The Biggest Toothbrush in Texas

My biggest toothbrush is from Texas

My biggest toothbrush is from Texas

 

I’ve got it! The biggest toothbrush from Texas. It’s not in Texas anymore, but in Missouri. And I’m willing to share it with you if you come to visit. I picked it up years ago when one of my girls went to Christ for the Nations Bible Institute in Dallas. Eva-Marie didn’t even make it a month there. College life and cystic fibrosis did not go well together. She ended up in the hospital and had to have gallbladder surgery, but that’s another story. Carina spent a year at CFN and went on a mission trip to Polen. So you can understand that I’m inclined to favor Texas, not just because they have big toothbrushes.

My son-in-law considers me a germ-freak. Just because I don’t want to share a drinking glass with someone else shouldn’t make me a freak. (My grandkids are an exception. I’ll share anything with them!) But to share a toothbrush, no way! So, what’s the big deal about sharing toothbrushes? For me, a toothbrush is sacred. That is the one thing that is only 4MEEE! Funny thing, driving home from Fort Gibson last Sunday a car from Texas passed me on the Turnpike with a license plate that read… yes, you guessed it! 4MEEE.

That Texas license plate got my thinking wheels spinning. Eventually it will turn into en entry all of its own. It’ll just keep you on your toes. My thoughts exactly: Life is more 4U and less 4MEEE! At least that’s the way I think it should be.

Now, let’s get back to the toothbrush issue. There are people that are so kind and generous they will even share a toothbrush with you. In the mid-fifties, when my dad was itinerating in Sweden doing missions services, he would stay at whatever home offered hospitality. This one time, he visited an elderly lady. Before going to bed he asked her for some water to brush his teeth. (She probably had no indoor plumbing. Otherwise, why would he be asking for water?) She most willingly fetched a glass of water for him, and then kindly asked, “Do you have a toothbrush? If not, you are most welcome to use mine!” She sure beat me! I doubt I’d even offer the King of Sweden my toothbrush if he should come to visit. Of, course, the Texas toothbrush is up for grabs, but you have to have a big mouth to use it!

Let me tell you another toothbrush story. As young missionaries in Peru we had en English missionary family visit us from time to time. They worked in the jungles of the Satipo area and periodically they would come to Huancayo to breathe some mountain air. The funny thing is that every time they visited my husbands toothbrush would end up “the wrong way” in the cup.

Bengt liked to put his toothbrush with the handle up. Well, when Peter Smith and company visited the brush ended up sitting with the handle down in the cup. When they returned home to the jungle, Bengt’s toothbrush stayed the way he liked it. Bengt was kind enough to not embarrass Peter asking about it. Come to think about it, it could have been Peter’s wife Elsa that used the brush! (They are both safe in the arms of Jesus, and I’m sure they would both have a good laugh reading this toothbrush story.)

What do you think? Am I too selfish by keeping my toothbrush to myself? The Bible says God is no respecter of persons. He loves everyone and he treats everyone the same, king or pauper. I’m just wondering… if he had a toothbrush, would anybody using his bathroom be welcome to it. Just a thought!

When you come to my house to stay overnight, don’t forget to bring you toothbrush! Anything else I’ll gladly share with you. And be assured, you’re more than welcome to come to visit.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

