Living by the 60/40 Principle

I was encouraged today by a friend; she wrote me a note saying she missed my blogs. It’s been a little quiet on this front, but fighting a chest congestion and a persistent cough doesn’t leave much room for inspiration. But I’m slowly recovering and I can’t just sit around and roll my thumbs, so here comes another contribution to what Solomon called, “Of making many books there is no end” (Eccl 12:12). He was a prolific writer. Just think if he had lived today. I bet he would have been on the top of all bloggers!

Several years ago I heard this principle that was taught by a professor at Hope College in Holland, Michigan: “Give in 60 percent of the time. Expect no more than 40 percent from someone else.” I remember that I advised my daughter and her future husband to live by that principle. In other words: give more and expect less.

The Golden Rule is to do unto others as we would want them to do unto us. I would take it a step further and suggest we treat others better than we expect to be treated. Generosity always pays ample dividends.

I’m entertaining myself by going through a notebook I have filled with quotes I have picked up along the way, from books, sermons and personal devotions. I started writing them down after my daughter’s death eight years ago and in honor of her memory I used a variety of colors. She loved color pens and left me quite a collection. Try using colors in your journaling; it will brighten your day and your thoughts!

Here are some good thoughts on kindness, which will inspire us to spread the fragrance of Christ and live by the 60/40 principle:

Kindness is the insignia of a loving heart.

Kindness is the ability to love people more than they deserve.

Kindness is the language which the deaf can hear and the blind see.

Kindness is like snow; it makes everything it covers beautiful.

A kindness done today is the surest way to a brighter tomorrow.

We can never show kindness too soon, because we never know how soon it will be too late.

The greatest thing we can do for our Heavenly Father is to be kind to his children.

To be kind is to sow love. In the law of sowing and reaping there is a catch: you always reap more than you sow! A few years ago my husband played a trick on me. He dumped a small package of pumpkin seeds in my flower garden! I’ll tell you that what you reap from pumpkin seeds is big; they take over. That summer we had pumpkins all over the place. I’m showcasing a few that I organized very properly once I harvested them.

The Bible tells us it is more blessed to give then to receive. “Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously” (2 Cor 9:6).

Jesus said, “Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you (Luke 6:38).

May God help us this year, and all the years to come, to be a little kinder and treat each other better than we expect to be treated! The 60/40 principle will bring a great harvest!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Love. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Living by the 60/40 Principle

  1. Joan Carlson says:

    Hermana Che, thanks for sharing God’s word with all of us you inspire me and I receive the Love of the Lord trough you.
    It will be nice if we can live a little bit closer from each other so we can visit more often like when we were in Huancayo.
    My prayers are with you.
    con amor,
    Joan

  2. Dianne Morton says:

    As always, great food for thought. Glad your back. I am praying for warmer weather so you can get out and back to the Media Center. We all miss you…

Leave a Reply

