The Most Powerful Prayer

Maybe you consider Elijah’s prayer for fire from heaven the most powerful prayer. Or when he prayed and it didn’t rain for three and a half years, and then he prayed again and it rained.

The first powerful prayer recorded in Scripture is Abraham’s intercession for Sodom and Gomorrah, when he pleaded several times for God not to destroy those cities. He stopped at ten, asking that for the sake of ten righteous people living in those cities God would not execute his judgment. But there were not even ten!

Jacob prayed a powerful prayer the night before he was to meet Esau, returning from his twenty years of exile. “I will not let you go unless you bless me,” was the cry from a heart that desperately needed God’s help. O, that we would hold on to the Lord in prayer and not let go until we have the blessing we are asking for!

Moses, leading the Israelites through the dessert had to recur constantly to prayer; sometimes he would fall flat on his face before God. His most desperate prayer was when the people had made themselves gods of gold. “But now, please forgive their sin — but if not, then blot me out of the book you have written” (Ex 32: 32).

A humble and desperate prayer was that of Hannah asking God for a son, and offering to give that son back to God. She kept her promise when God gave her Samuel, and then the Lord was gracious to her and gave her three more sons and two daughters. Talk about a powerful prayer! And it didn’t come from a prophet or a king but from the weeping heart of a woman that was ridiculed because she was barren.

We have many of King David’s prayers recorded in the Book of Psalms. Here are some that impress my heart:

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me
and know my anxious thoughts.
See if there is any offensive way in me,
and lead me in the way everlasting.
(139:23-24)

Who can discern his errors? Forgive my hidden faults…
May the words of my mouth and the meditation
 of my heart be pleasing in your sight (19:12-14)

Keep me as the apple of your eye;
hide me in the shadow of your wings.
(Ps 17:8)

I desire to do your will, O my God;
your law is within my heart.
(Ps 40:8)

As the deer pants for streams of water,
so my soul pants for you, O God.
My soul thirsts for God, for the living God…
(See Ps 42:1-6)

Hear my cry, O God; listen to my prayer.
From the ends of the earth I call to you,
I call as my heart grows faint;
lead me to the rock that is higher than I.
(See Ps 61:1-4) 

Praise be to the Lord, to God our Savior,
who daily bears our burdens.
(Ps 68:19)

What do you think of David’s son Solomon’s prayer? What if God said to you, “Ask me for whatever you want me to give you”? What would you ask for? That’s worth pondering! Because he asked for wisdom, God gave him much more: wisdom, riches, and honor.

The extremely tested man, Job, was restored and blessed far above the blessings he had before his great trial. When? How? When he prayed for his friends! Now that is a powerful prayer: to pray for our friends.

I think one of the ingredients in powerful prayers are tears. In thinking of the condition of his people, Jeremiah cries out: “Oh, that my head were a spring of water and my eyes a fountain of tears! I would weep day and night for the slain of my people” (Jer 9:1).

Daniel, a man that prayed three times a day turned towards Jerusalem, had to spend the night in a lions’ den because of this practice. But how many get to sleep with lions whose mouths have been shut by angels?

Jesus most powerful and intense prayer was in the Garden of Gethsemane when he was praying about taking on the sins of the world and going to the cross. The intensity made him sweat drops of blood.

Mary and Martha learned that a disappointment can turn into a HIS-appointment. Just like we do many times, they put the “IF” in their speech. When Jesus arrives “late” at their request, and their brother Lazarus is already buried, both of them have the same thing to say, “Lord, if you had been here my brother would not have died.” Our “ifs” amount to nothing when God answers our prayer at “His time” and in “His way”!

The Early Church prayed some powerful prayers. Stephen, the first martyr of the Christian Church, while being stoned, paved the way for millions to come with these historic words, “Lord do not hold this sin against them.”

We find a powerful prayer by the believers after Peter and John had been threatened not to speak or teach in the name of Jesus, “Now, Lord, consider their threats and enable your servants to speak your word with great boldness. Stretch out your hand to heal and perform miraculous signs and wonders through the name of your holy servant Jesus” (Acts 4:29-30).

In Paul’s letter to the Ephesians we have an extraordinary example of his powerful prayers. He prays that the believers be rooted and established in love, that they may grasp the vastness of the love of Christ, and that they may “be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.” (See Eph 3:14-19.)

In a message I heard today the preacher said, “We need less theology and more knee-ology!”  That is what got me thinking about prayer and powerful prayers. What would be my most powerful prayer? The same as the disciples asked Jesus:

“Lord, teach me to pray!”

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Most Powerful Prayer

  1. Hello,

    I would like to have support for the following prayer. Mom (Henriette Billard) who was 97 was hospitalized against her will for distort food roads The pneumology department did not accept her. The rhumatology department refused to keep her but transferred mom to the geriatric department.

    Then a pneumonia of inhalation was discovered. Failing to treat it or to feed mom by oral route the hospital where mom was decided not to nourish her by any mean whatsoever and the hospital refused to let mom go back home until it was sure she would die.

    Mom was authorized to come back home within a hospital at home (half a bulb of scopolamine was injected to her – I was said it was for her breathing comfort…) . She died 3 days later

    Considering that every person has the right to be treated normally whatsoever their age and that there was an injustice of which mom was the victim which should repaired (Luke 18), I ask God in the name of Jesus Christ (John 14:13) to raise up mom from the deads for some extra high quality years of life because for God nothing is impossible (John 6:19, Matthew 17:20, Matthew 19:26, Mark 10:27, Luke 1:37 (if mom would have died normally I would not ask prayers so that she may be raised up from the deads now).

    Many thanks for those who accept to support me for this.prayer.

    May God bless them.

    Philippe Billard

    More details in my blog-personal prayer request http://1resurrection.com
    When God performs this miracle I will write it on this blog.
    (you may also find there several tools for churches)

Leave a Reply

