Beaten in Chess

My seven-year-old grandson David is visiting me for a few days. He is a hyperactive boy with his head full of ideas. Today we have played Monopoly, Chinese Checkers, and Chess. A few weeks ago he discovered a Chess set that used to be his grandfathers and he has started playing. His dad is teaching him.

I played Chess when I was 12 years old. I can’t remember ever playing it again. Playing with me David won his first Chess game ever, which made him very excited. “Now I can beat Dad,” he said. But beating his grandmother who hasn’t played for over 50 years can’t compare to a game with his father. We played three games, and I lost in all three. “You are not paying attention,” he said.

He might be right! I want to unpack and organize my office. But the books can wait, and they won’t go anywhere. But I will not always have the company of this fun-loving boy. Relationships are what counts.

Tomorrow is going to be exciting. They will deliver the couch and the recliner I ordered when David’s sister Lana was here. Cable television will not be installed until June 8th. Due to the storms and tornados the technicians are very backed-up. But that’s the least of my worries. I told the guy I ordered the service from that I might pop in to the neighbors to watch the news. Then, of course, I could go on the Internet! Why didn’t I think of that before?

I know in my heart that this move back to Springfield is a God-thing. This afternoon I was given a project pertaining to a children’s Study Bible based on the work of the Holy Spirit. I’m excited to be part of a team work again. What a privilege to be able to use one’s talents for the glory of God’s Kingdom.

I wonder how many games of Chess I will lose tomorrow. By the way, the first time David played Chinese Checkers he won. That time I was so busy teaching him how to make good moves that I missed my own moves.

Remember what the bride says in Song of Solomon 1:6?

My mother’s sons were angry with me
and made me take care of the vineyards;
my own vineyard I have neglected.

When it comes to the heart, it’s not like a game of Chess or Checkers. It doesn’t matter how busy we are tending for others, we have to take care of our own heart.

Above all else, guard your heart,
for it is the wellspring of life.
Proverbs 4:23

It’s evening. David and I managed to blow up an air mattress. Now he is playing Monopoly as a bed-time game. He just called and asked if I could keep him some company. I guess that is what I’ll do. Books and blogs can wait. But not a grandchild that needs his grandmother!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

