Rejoicing put to Practice

What do you think happened yesterday after I posted about choosing to rejoice? Of course, something came my way so that I could practice what I preached.

The day before I had been working several hours on a translation project. Every time I get a new project I give it a name that reflects what I’m doing. When the job has to do with Spanish, I put a prefix with SP. My computer is set to save a job every ten minutes, but where was the file saved to? Well, I couldn’t find the new job. My English file was intact, and since I do my translations on top of the English text, I know I had another file I was working on.

As much as I looked, I could not find the file! My son-in-law helped me go through all the different scenarios where it could have been placed, with no luck. I had lost several hours of work! I’m sure someone reading this has had that experience and knows how it feels. And that is when I had to practice what I just had written about. I could have chosen to be miserable and complain about the situation, but I decided to take my own advice and “rejoice.” But I can’t say I was happy about it.

When something is bothering my grandchildren and they cry about it, their dad tells them, “Suck it up, dry it up, and go on with life!” I sucked it up, and started all over again. Every time something like that happens I think about William Carrey, the father of modern missions, who lost all his translation work and Bible projects in a fire. He had no computer and back-up files stored away som other place. He had to start all over again! If I remember correctly he even lost his printing press and the paper designated for printing Bibles.

While I was redoing the job the kids wanted to play Chess, so in between phrases of translation I moved the pieces. I played with each one of the older kids. Brianna, the youngest of the “oldest” ones doesn’t really get the point. She wanted me to capture all her pieces. Her goal was to get her Queen captured, so she could walk with a Pawn all the way to the other side and get her Queen back. But before she could do that, I captured her King, and the game was over! I finally learned to say “capture,” because I was stuck on saying that I “ate” the pieces, like they say in Spanish. I haven’t played chess since I was twelve years old, so it’s amazing how much I remembered, and since I had learned the game in Spanish, I was stuck on “eating” the pieces.

I also remembered many of the phrases I translated on the job I had lost. But most important is that I remembered my own advice, to choose to rejoice! I just praised the Lord that nothing worse happened. But how can one explain a Word file totally lost. Zilch! Nowhere to be found. Maybe someone can give me an idea on what happened.

For now, I will continue on my rejoicing mission and tomorrow I will redo the lost translation!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

