The Best Thing to Collect

Last night I had finished organizing my 3-ring-binders, about 100 of them, full of ideas and teaching materials collected over 40+ years. I think this is the biggest of my collections. I had many more binders, but when I packed up and moved last year, I downsized. I’m sure it doesn’t sound like downsizing to you. But I really did!

I sat down to admire my collection. It felt good in my soul to have so much material to access, divided in different subjects, as missions, prayer, miracles, leadership, Christian education, children, women, etc. So I brought out my camera and took a picture of whatever could fit in the lens.

 

I think collecting things is in my blood. The following are a few of the things I’ve collected over the year. The first thing I remember collecting was scraps of textile materials that I pasted into a notebook as a nine-year-old. Then came…

  • Napkins
  • Stamps
  • Key-rings
  • Coins
  • Pennies I’ve found, as a reminder that In God We Trust
  • State quarters
  • Missions-related souvenirs
  • Bibles
  • Photo albums (scrapbooks); I’ve reduced the 80+ to 45
  • Snowmen
  • Pictures from magazines (I have a filing cabinet drawer organized by categories)
  • Photos of my crafts, mostly sweaters and afghans
  • Photos of license plates from every US state
  • Envelopes with interesting addresses. The most unique one is from Sweden, addressed to Editorial Vida, Miami, Florida, and that’s it!
  • Pictures of mail boxes

This is enough of a list. These are simple things that could be collected without spending a fortune, and not too difficult to take from one place to another. Just fun stuff that sparks my creativity.

One thing I don’t want to collect is dust, especially not on my Bible! Too many people do just that.

Are you a collector? What do you collect?

Tomorrow I’m going to fix a spot in my lawyer’s bookcase for all the “hearts” I didn’t know I had collected. But I have found quite a few and they will represent my “Seed of Love” ministry. I’m so excited about it I might even do it before I go to bed.

Love is in the air! The love of God fills me to overflowing. I’ll have the camera ready so I can show you my “Love” spot. The most unique “love-piece”, an embroidered wall hanging, is gone. I gave it away, so I guess it’s a good thing.

Collections! What’s the best thing to collect? Memories! And the months I have spent away from my house living with my daughter’s family, I’ve collected many memories. For sure, those are the best kinds of collections!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

