A Sweet Spot of Love

I have learned what a “sweet spot” is. When I first came across this expression while doing a translation, I figured it was something other than a sweet spot, but as much as I tried I could not figure out what it meant. My editor friends explained to me in the simplest of fashion, that in sports like tennis or baseball, it is the best place to hit the ball with. Like I just read on Wikipedia, a sweet spot is a place “where a combination of factors results in a maximum response for a given amount of effort.”

This picture shows my “Seed of Love” spot. I hope that like a sweet spot, the combination of factors will result in a maximum result for my effort to spread the love of God. I have it sitting in a strategic place in my house, so that on my way to the bedroom or the office I can see it, and it will remind me of the vision I have to spread the Seed of Love.

I started this month with the determinations that it would be the month when I wrote a blog a day, which I actually do, or even more, if I count what I write in all three languages: English, Spanish, and Swedish. But my resolve was to blog here every day. Last night, after an exhausting day trying to get my things organized, I fell asleep at the computer, writing. When I finally woke up it was too late to finish.

Today I’ve spent the day half proofreading and half translating. What I mean is that I’ve used half a day for each project. The proofreading project has me frustrated, because I have to redo something I already did twice, because somebody else messed up. I have to pray to God to help me keep a good attitude, especially because it has to do with his Word.

I’m proofreading a Study Bible in Spanish. One thing you don’t have to worry about in the English language are accents; but that is a great part of the Spanish language. Back in the day before computers, when we used typewriters, there was no possibility to put accents on capital letters, so the older versions of the Bible do not have them.

The translation used for the particular Bible I’m working on is from 1960, so no accents. For some reason the people typesetting inserted accents, and now I have to go through and mark them up so they can take them off. Thus my frustration!

Have I confused you? Don’t worry. I know what I’m doing, and I’m going to do it well, frustration and all. I need to hit the sweet spot in my heart to do the job with a sweet spirit. And that is what I’ll do.

Love plays such an important role in our life. Let me give you a few excerpts from the Word of God

Proverbs 3:3-4
Let love and faithfulness never leave you; bind them around your neck, write them on the tablet of your heart. Then you will win favor and a good name in the sight of God and man.

Proverbs 10:12
Hatred stirs up dissension, but love covers over all wrongs.

Proverbs 20:28
Love and faithfulness keep a king safe; through love his throne is made secure.

Romans 12:9-10
Love must be sincere. Hate what is evil; cling to what is good. Be devoted to one another in brotherly love. Honor one another above yourselves.

Romans 13:9-10
“Love your neighbor as yourself.” Love does no harm to its neighbor. Therefore love is the fulfillment of the law.

1 Corinthians 13:4
Love is patient, love is kind.

Hebrews 10:24
Let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds.

May our “sweet spot” be a place of love!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Seed of Love. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

