Good and Godly Fathers

Once again it’s the time of the year when we honor fathers. One more year I am privileged to have my father still with me. He is oceans away, at present living in Sweden, but he is no farther than a phone-call away. But these days he is the one that makes the calls. He and his wife don’t have a regular phone-line installed in their little abode, so I can’t call him anytime I want to, and I miss it! But he calls me once in a while.

I’m proud to have this picture of me and the man that has left me the best ever legacy: faith in God!

In my file about fathers I found a poem written by Walter E. Isenhour, about good fathers, and this is the perfect timing to share it. I praise God for having a good father, a friend, a hero, and most of all a man that has left me a legacy of faith in God.

My daughters had a good father. He loved them, he loved people, he loved me much more than I deserved, and above all he loved God. I’m so glad he left my daughter and grandchildren a legacy of faith.

My grandchildren have a good father. I’m proud of my son-in-law because he works hard to provide for his family. Most off all I admire him because he is a godly father.

I wish the world had more good and godly fathers, like the men that have impacted my life. If you are a father, be the best one you can, for the glory of God.

             

                  GOOD FATHERS

                  We need good fathers in our homes
                       whose hearts are full of grace,

                  Who by their love and earnest prayers,
                       make home a pleasant place;

                  Who set examples that are clean
                       for all their folks to see,

                  And long to be the noble men
                       that God would have them be.

                  We need good fathers in the church
                       to occupy the pews,

                  And help their fellow-members seek
                       the things they ought to choose;

                  Whose lives are such from day to day,
                       wherever they may go,

                  That others looking on may say,
                        “The Lord they surely know.”

                  We need good fathers o’er the land
                       who live and tell the truth,

                  And have at heart along life’s way
                       the welfare of our youth;

                  Who want to keep our country free
                       on ocean and on sod,

                  And help their fellows on their way
                       to heaven and to God.

                  Such fathers then deserve our prayers,
                       our honor and respect,

                  And never should they suffer from
                       our spirit of neglect:

                  And by the living grace of God
                       we ought to boost them on,

                  Until their battles all are fought
                       and Glory’s Day shall dawn.

 

Happy Father’s Day!
About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

