We are Irreplaceable

This is going to be an interesting week for me. The blogs will probably be short, if I don’t stay up and burn the midnight oil. My granddaughter Brianna is spending the week with me, and she is very high-maintenance! (Translated, it means I will not be spending much time on things other than her, but what’s the purpose of visiting grandma if you can’t have her all to yourself?!)

She has tried playing soccer, but that didn’t work out very well. Either she was too young or soccer isn’t her thing. The past year she has taken dance classes, and loved it. This summer she is doing tumbling, which is a type of artistic gymnastics. Today I got to see her in action. We went to her class before our trip from Fort Gibson to Springfield. Here are a couple of pictures that show how her teacher is helping her.

Our trip home was somewhat adventurous because we missed and exit that would take us to Highway 69. We ended up on the Turnpike leading to Tulsa. Once you get on the Turnpike it’s very hard to turn around, you just have to go with the flow—mile after mile after mile after mile!

I had time to think many thoughts about the importance of paying attention to where we’re going. It just takes a nanosecond of distraction and you can end up totally lost. I was distracted! Left hand on the steering wheel, right hand in the cooler grabbing for a snack to give Brianna. She had eaten her sandwich and now she wanted “dessert”!

That’s how we are, mothers and grandmothers! Always attending to several things at one time. Usually it works, but not when you’re looking for a specific exit on a road you haven’t traveled before. Beware of “life’s road” so you don’t get distracted and end up lost!

Guess who was shouting for joy when a sign came up indicating and exit to a road leading to the town I needed to go through to make it home! Usually there is more than one road to a certain destination; one shorter, one longer. This one was a long way around. For those who know the area, I’m talking about Wagoner.

Enough said about my little “excursion” on the Turnpike leading to Tulsa. The interesting part was the conversation we had in the car. There are always interesting conversations with Brianna.

She wasn’t satisfied with the dessert I gave her; she wanted more. Of course, when you have been tumbling you get hungry! So I gave her an apple. I guess what took her from the apple to the profound statement I’m about to disclose was that I said apples are good for you.

“Do you know we can’t replace ourselves?” she said. “I learned that in school.” And then she went on to tell me that if her toys get lost she can buy new ones. If she loses her things she can buy others. If one of her dolls is misplaced she can get another one. But she can not replace herself!

And that’s my point for the day: we are irreplaceable. Ponder the thought. It’s profound! We have what we have been given and we need to take good care of the gift of life. I can’t go to the store and get me another “I” to replace myself when my body isn’t working as well as I wish. You can’t go to the store and get another “you” to replace yourself when your body isn’t working as well as you wish.

So, eat an apple a day; you know, they say it keeps the doctor away. They’re good, and they’re good for you. To prove my point, I’m munching on one right now. But beware of the worms; especially if you get half of one. Then you know you’ve eaten the other half!

My dear “irreplaceable” cyber-friend, take good care of yourself. Don’t get distracted when you’re looking for an exit on a highway. Most of all don’t get lost on life’s highway. You can get to Wagoner on Highway 69 or Highway 51. But there is only one way that leads to Heaven: Jesus Christ.

To know more, click on Following Christ.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

