Life as a Picnic

Three years ago, when I was going to start my radiation and chemotherapy treatments, I was invited to my Braithwaite friends for dinner. Actually, I was given a standing invitation to have dinner with them anytime. What a deal! Sorry to say, due to the distance between our houses and my weakened condition, I was not able to enjoy that offer.

As I was leaving, we had prayer, and my friend Karen prayed that the ordeal would be like a picnic. Their three granddaughters were there at the time, the youngest two years old. She prayed that I would have a good picnic, because, of course, she did not grasp the meaning of the whole thing.

I had a long “picnic”! My friend Bruce has been through quite an ordeal with open heart surgery. The girl’s mother has gone through cancer fighting. In the midst of it all, God has sustained us.

Finally, today, we met again. They came over for a fun time of play with Brianna. We made jewelry and had a tea-party lunch. Brianna got to serve them healthy V-8 juice and Gatorade in little tea cups. How fun for a little girl!

Brianna with her new friends and their grandmother

The girls have remembered me as the lady who they prayed for to have a picnic. I was touched! When it was time to go home we made a circle and each prayed. How do you think I felt when each of them asked God that “Miss Kerstin’s life be a picnic”? That is, a picnic without ants!

Life turns out what we make it. Like they say, if God hands you lemons, make lemonade!

Often we can’t control our circumstances, and many times life gives us some hard blows, but with God’s help, even in the midst of a storm we can have a picnic.

The world needs more respectful and polite girls like the trio that visited me today. I applaud their parents and grandparents for doing a good job. I wish their life will be as a picnic.

By the way, my mower is fixed. Remember the guy that came by and offered to mow my lawn for five dollars? He pulled too hard on the cord and it broke. Praise the Lord, thanks to some kind friends the mower was taken for repair and is now as good as new. My lawn is moved and looks so wonderful that I could have a picnic on it!

Whatever happens to you, find your strength in God!

Psalm 46:1-7
God is our refuge and strength,
an ever-present help in trouble.
2 Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way
and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea,
3 though its waters roar and foam
and the mountains quake with their surging…
7 The LORD Almighty is with us;
the God of Jacob is our fortress.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

