A Boot in the Sky

Yesterday, as I was driving down the highway to take Brianna to meet her Dad, the sky cleared from clouds, except for a boot. I managed to bring out my camera before it disappeared. It reminded me of the week with my grandchild; before we knew it, the week was gone, just like that boot in the sky!

I have had some interesting conversations with this six-year-old girl. It was emotional to visit her aunt Eva’s grave. On our way to the cemetery we passed a Pet Cemetery, and of course she had never heard of something of the kind. Something else new to her was the way her grandfather is buried.

In simple word I explained about cremation, and the memorabilia I have put together with the pot from Nicaragua where his ashes are. She told me she does not want to be burned, rather buried. I said we would talk to her parents about that.

Soon the conversation turned to other matters. The cemetery is close to where her big brother lives, but we figured he probably wasn’t home. “I think John is out looking for a house,” she said. Since he has a girlfriend she figures he is going to marry soon. “That is what I’m going to do before I get married,” she continued.

Then she talked about how many children she is going to have. “I want to have just like Mom. Two big girls, and a little girl, and a boy.” She planned on having a husband so he could help her take care of the kids!

I asked Brianna if she would like to have me around. “If you’re still alive!” she said. She figures I’m going to be very old by that time. “Then we really are going to have to push you in a wheel chair,” she concluded. And she is going to push me, because by that time she’s going to be bigger and stronger. (I only use a wheel chair in stores, when there is a lot of walking to do.)

Another matter of conversation has been the situation on Joplin after the devastating tornado. She told me several times we should go there and help. This girl picks up everything she hears. “I’ve heard Branson is going to help,” she said. “Why don’t we help?”

We stopped in Joplin when taking Brianna home and drove to one of the areas hit by the tornado. I had done that with her brother David, so we also had to do it. The devastation looked even worse this time. Below are a couple of pictures. And then came the question one more time, “Why don’t you and I help them clean up?”

The destroyed trees and buildings are nothing compared to the casualties.

Before leaving home I had read in the newspaper accounts about some of the 158 casualties. One young man was on his way from his High School graduation when he was hit by the storm; one little girl died in her father’s arms.

She has a good heart, Brianna. The same as when she visited me alone at four years of age, she had to prepare presents for everyone. I helped her get something for each of the kids and for her mother. That was one of the most exciting things for her. Even if her father just got a sea shell, it was important because she picked it out from my sea shell box, washed it and polished it. It’s not the size of the present that is important, but the love behind it. And this girl has lots of love to spread around.

On the way home she was already planning her visit for next summer. First Lana, then David, then it would be her turn again!

Before we know it, summer 2012 will be here. Time flies as fast as the boot that appeared and disappeared in the sky.

I’m looking forward to the day when my Savior will appear in the sky. The trumpet of God will resound and we will “fly away” to meet Jesus in the sky. A summer visit to grandmother’s house is nothing compared to what awaits those that love Jesus.

Are you ready for that glorious day?

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

