Imagination

Said Albert Einstein:

“Imagination is more important than knowledge. For while knowledge defines all we currently know, imagination points to all we might yet discover and create.”

This is my “imagination-girl” on her fourth birthday, with a Princess theme, and when I gave her a princess outfit. For years she has loved anything that has to do with princesses. I’ve lost count of the times she has come to me, asking, “Let’s play princesses!”

Now I am the one imagining and playing “princesses”! Today the furniture for my princess-room will be delivered. And then starts the job of making the princess dream come true.

God put a dream in my heart, to fix a room where ladies that are tired and worn could come for a weekend and feel like a princess; a place where they could be pampered and pick up strength to go on with their busy and demanding life, especially mothers. I see in my daughter how exhausting a mother’s responsibility is.

This past Sunday, after church, I went on a mission of finding furniture for the room. I had prayed about it and asked God to guide me. For some time I’ve had in mind where to go, and there I went. In the first store I visited the salesman was very busy; he showed me quickly something that might work and then left me with a card and a catalog. That didn’t impress me, so I went on to another store next door. This time I was met by a gentleman that was willing to push my wheelchair, and he didn’t run back and forth and leave me with a card and a catalog.

I had two main models to choose from; one very practical (for my practical Swedish mind) and another very “what I believe American ladies will like, but not so much typical for a Swede” (think IKEA!). I decided to go home and measure the room to see what pieces would fit!

As I’m driving along the realization hit me. It had to be a sign! The name of the furniture: Princess! The main inspiration for the room was a wall-picture I had bought at Hobby Lobby featuring Princess-Daughter of the King. Later I found journals to match (I have a considerable supply so each lady will get one as a “souvenir” from her Princess-weekend). It isn’t the practical furniture!

I measured the room and made a sketch, and then back to the store I went, in pouring rain and hail. The salesman happened to be a Christian and understood my dream. He did his best to work with me on the prices. This afternoon the furniture arrives!

My imagination is running wild! When I told my Princess-girl about the bed, she wondered if I had bought a Prince-bed for her brother. We talked for a while trying to “imagine” where we would put such a bed. Even with the best of imagination there is no space for a Prince-bed. I wonder if David will agree to sleep on a princess bed when it’s his turn to visit me again.

I wrote last time about having writer’s block. Let me tell you, very few times is my imagination blocked. I have been given an ample supply. And now my imagination is running wild on how to fix that room to be fit for a princess.

I have to go now, to get the room spotless and EMPTY! I don’t know if I’ve ever felt as excited about anything, as in the planning of this room. Yes, of course, in planning my wedding, and in planning the arrivals of my own two princesses… but that was in “another life.”

This is a new day, and it starts with the imagination of a princess room, a room fit for a Queen!!!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Dreams. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Imagination

  1. Cassie McCown says:

    Replying to a lady who had said that she had no imagination, Anne of Green Gables said: “Oh, how much you miss!”

    My imagination has always been quite fertile, so I am able to “see” your princess room with you. I wish I were there to imagine with you. Perhaps I will come and stay in your room for a few days at some time in the future.

    God bless you, Kerstin. Keep on dreaming; keep on imagining!

  2. ncrowson says:

    Kerstin, what a wonderful idea! And what a lovely ministry! I will be praying that the Lord will send you the weary pilgrims in need of restoration. Love you. Nancy

  3. ginger child says:

    HOORAY FOR YOU! Sounds wonderful! What a blessing you already are!
    “Daughter of a King”, we are!

Leave a Reply

