Breakfast for the Soul

My head is spinning. I feel like the prophet Elijah. But how do I know how he felt? I’m just picturing him. Tired, after a hard battle with the Baal prophets… I think what I want is a visitor like he had.

An angel prepared food for him: a cake of bread baked over hot coals, and a jar of water. “Strengthened by that food, he traveled forty days and forty nights until he reached Horeb, the mountain of God” (1 Kings 19:9).

I haven’t traveled but I have been working my head off to get a job done so I can start traveling tomorrow. I had a plan for this job, but there were unforeseen interruptions and I lost a day. That is why I have been going, and going, and going…

Elijah was strengthened by “angel food” and walked 40 days. Unbelievable! I have been strengthened by an early morning in the presence of God, listening to the sounds.

When it’s so hot that the temperature goes above 100 degrees in the day-time, you have to take advantage of the early morning hours. I love to sit outside in the breeze. That’s my breakfast for the soul. I let all the morning sounds feed me:

  • The horn of a train puffing away on a long journey
  • Cars and trucks passing on the Interstate
  • An airplane flying high up in the sky
  • The chorus of crickets and other little critters
  • Birds singing their morning praises
  • Neighboring dogs saluting the day

An orchestra of sounds and noises. This was my “quiet” morning. There was silence in the midst of it all! My soul listening for the most important voice of all. And that’s when I started thinking of Elijah. He was listening for God. After that 40-day travel, strengthened by angel food, he stood on the mountain in the presence of God, listening for his voice.

A great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks …
          but the LORD was not in the wind.
After the wind there was an earthquake …
          but the LORD was not in the earthquake.
After the earthquake came a fire …
          but the LORD was not in the fire.
And after the fire came a gentle whisper … 
          And there was God!

Nothing is more precious than a “quiet” summer morning, surrounded by all the early sounds, listening for God to speak … in the gentle whisper

“In quietness and trust is your strength,” the LORD God said through the prophet Isaiah (30:15).

And then there is the Bible verse I hope to paint on a border around the ceiling of the Princess-room.

“The LORD your God is with you,
he is mighty to save.
He will take great delight in you,
he will quiet you with his love,
he will rejoice over you with singing.” –Zephaniah 3:17

I take a break and lay on the bed, looking up at the ceiling, picturing those words comforting some tired soul. “God will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.”

That is more than just breakfast for the soul. That is the best of comfort foods.

I wish an angel would come and tap me on the shoulder. Inviting me one of those baked cakes that has energy for 40 days!

My vacation travel for 2011 starts tomorrow. I need energy and I have to pack light. We have to fit ourselves (2 adults & 4 kids) and everybody’s stuff in a van.  I’m not good at packing light… All the “What if I need it” have to stay home. But one thing that has to go with me is my friend the computer. I want to write about our vacation. After all, it’s my youngest niece that’s getting married.

It’s going to be many hours of driving, many opportunities to hear new sounds. Every day will have a different breakfast for the soul. But I don’t have many hopes for an angel bringing me a cake baked on hot coals for my body needs. I suspect a McDonald’s breakfast will have to do!

Do you like to feed your soul with the whisper of God’s love? How awesome to hear God whisper to you!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Vacation 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

