Mama Puppy’s First Wedding

I’ve been home from my vacation five days and still I have not gone grocery shopping. We are having a heat wave so I am just huddling inside. I still managed to cook my traditional meal for July 28, the Peruvian beef stir fry “lomo saltado” (without the beef), which I wrote about 2 years ago. Adding Pace salsa sauce brought it to the top! The very “top” would be to celebrate this day once more in Peru.

I am torn between Sweden and Peru. I have family in both places. I inherited family in Peru when my father married one of my good friends. My cousin Milene came to the wedding, and my grandchildren just loved her!

A great surprise for my niece was that my father came from Sweden. It was very hard for my sister-in-law to keep it a secret, but she managed.

Someone else at the wedding was Mama Puppy with her very dressed up “mommy”, my princess Sarah.

As Sarah had her Mama Puppy, I was surrounded by my loved ones. A special treat was to see my “little” brother; not so little anymore. The one that I prayed for every night when I was twelve. The one that I made call me “mommy” when he was two! Here he is with my precious ones!

We survived the heat. That wasn’t the worse. To find our way around to the different places was another story. What a blessing that my daughter had a GPS on her phone. These modern-day gadgets are wonderful!

Something wonderful I heard on this trip was Brianna telling us that she and her sister Lana were becoming good friends. “LOVE hides in surprising places.” I received that quote today in an advertising. I was so pleasantly surprised to hear Brianna say, “Let’s be friends forever.” She asked me the same thing a few years ago.

To be friends, don’t we all need that?! Sometimes siblings have rivalry among themselves. What a goal to work on being friends!

I don’t know how long Mama Puppy is going to be around. But what I hope will stay for a long time, and grow stronger day by day is the sense of friendship between “my” girls. After the wedding they had some wonderful days by Stormy Lake in northern Wisconsin, days to strengthen their friendship. I’ll have some pictures about that visit tomorrow.

Let me leave with this word about friends.

“A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity” (Prov 17:17).

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Vacation 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mama Puppy’s First Wedding

  1. ginger child says:

    Rachel and I talked about going out for Peruvian food tonight, but stayed home and had delicious soup and a brownie! Your Dad looks GREAT! love you, ging

  2. kelund says:

    My dad will be 91 this September. It’s great that he can still travel. He’s spoiled by a cute little Peruvian wife that takes care of him as if he was a King!

Leave a Reply

