Writing to God

Have you ever written to God? To journal your prayers is writing to God. I have done it for many years and have a bookshelf full of journals. To go back and see where I’ve been and how far I’ve come is very humbling. I wanted to write “rewarding,” but it really is humbling. To see how God’s grace is at work in one’s life is just that: very humbling!

One thing is to look back and see God’s hand at work, but we also have a future to look forward to, that we cannot even start to imagine. I was reminded of it in my Bible reading this morning.

With all the wonderful things God does for us as we journey on our way to heaven, we wonder what it’s going to be like to get there. No doubt about it: THE BEST IS YET TO COME!

Looking back in my journals, my writings to God, I have proof that it was in the hardest of times that the fellowship was sweetest!

Let me pick out some nuggets from journals past:

It is impossible to know God and not trust him.

TROUBLE NEVER COMES OUR WAY UNLESS IT BRINGS A NUGGET IN ITS HAND.

It is my business to learn to be peaceful and safe in God in every situation.

Stop thinking of obstacles; start thinking of opportunities.

My troubles are a challenge from God to claim a larger blessing.

IF IT WAS EASY ANYBODY COULD DO IT!

What got me into this train of thought is a very touching film called LETTERS TO GOD. It’s a tribute to a little boy who battled cancer. Buy the DVD and watch it, if you haven’t already seen it, and click here to check out the web site.

Write your own letters to God! Pour out your heart before him. Express your praise and gratitude. Then go back and revisit the wonderful fellowship you’ve had with your Lord. You’ll see how your relationship with him grows sweeter and stronger from day to day.

If you do not have a relationship with Jesus, click at the right on KNOWING JESUS/Follow Christ. If you would like prayer and spiritual help, contact me here: kelund AT attDOTcom.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

