Life Goes On

It usually sits in my neighbor’s driveway, this DHL van, but not until today did I stop to give it a closer look. What a pleasant surprise!  I just discovered that DHL has been in Peru since 1981. Thirty years! Should I paint something on myself about Peru it would be to commemorate 55 years since I landed there, in the port of Callao, with my parents and siblings.

Forty years ago, this girl made her appearance there, high up in the mountains in the mining town of La Oroya. My firstborn! And this December it will be ten years since she left us. Her life of struggle with cystic fibrosis was over!

Her little friend, that helped her get through the very lonely years of her adult life, stayed with us for 15 years! Eva-Marie named her SMULAN, which in Swedish means “little crumb.” She was little, a toy poodle, and she was loved. It is now four years since she’s gone!

Life goes on! So do preventive tests and things, like having a mammogram done. Not the most comfortable thing… but then a test is a test. This morning I had mine done for this year! It was on coming home that I discovered the DHL painting. One more thing! DHL has gone international since 1969–the year I became Mrs. Lundquist. My David-boy loves to call me “Miss Lundquist.” It makes me feel young to be called “miss,” since the missis thing happened more than 40 years ago.

Sometimes tests  are painful, like life’s tests and trials. But there is hope. The apostle Paul wrote to the church in Corinth about the hardships he suffered in the province of Asia. “We were under great pressure, far beyond our ability to endure, so that we despaired even of life,” he wrote. “Indeed, in our hearts we felt the sentence of death. But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God, who raises the dead.”

Then comes his hope-filled testimony about God’s grace:

  • He HAS delivered us
  • He WILL deliver us
  • He WILL CONTINUE to deliver us

What kept Paul hopeful? The prayers of the church:  “… as you help us by your prayers. Then many will give thanks on our behalf for the gracious favor granted us in answer to the prayers of many.” (See 2 Corinthians 1:8-11.)

There was a quote on the wall at the Breast Cancer Center:

“The purpose of life is a life with purpose.”

On one side of my house was the van reminding me of Peru, and with that about God’s faithfulness through the years. Here is what I photographed from the other side of the house. A bright spot of joy and hope.

What goes on in your life? Are you on the sunny side of things? Or are you battling some hardships? Let the sun of God’s love engulf you. Remember the days gone by, how you’ve made it through. If you’re going through something, you will get through it!

My daughter and grandchildren have made it through another summer. Tomorrow the kids start a new school year and things can go back to “normal” again. It’s a big job to make it through a summer with

  • 2 seven-year olds
  • 1 six-year old
  • 1 three-year old

… especially on a summer as hot as this one has been!

I’m sure by tomorrow I’ll have a “Back to School” picture, and I’m working on something special to write about. It’s true–Life Goes On! Remember, the purpose of life is to live a life with purpose.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

