Rebooting

I was getting a little frustrated this morning by my printer. There is something about a printer—you can talk kindly to it or scream in frustration; you can shake it, pull out the cables, take the ink cartridge in and out, and it will just sit there!

My printer was out of toner so I had to change the cartridge. I followed the instructions to the tee, but try as I may it would not print. I did not talk to it and I did not shake it, but I moved it back and forth a zillion times. Nothing worked!

Finally it occurred to me that maybe I needed to reboot the computer. So I turned it off, went to have some breakfast, and came back ready to tackle the problem once again. I turned on the computer, and there was the printer, working like a charm!

I need to remember this: Rebooting does miracles!

It’s not only computers that need rebooting. I think that does us humans good, too. When things are on the edgy side, when you feel like throwing in the towel, take a break, regroup, and reboot your system!

Another thing that I have learned through trial and error—by the way, that’s how I learn most things—is that the best thing to do before moving a text from one operating system to another is to “clear all”! I highlight the text, go to “change styles” and choose “clear all.” That way I delete all formatting and I can start with a clean slate in the program where I’m bringing in the text.

In my Spanish www.hermanamargarita.com I’ve had problems with formatting so many times that I lost my inspiration. Yesterday, for the very first time I managed to publish an article, from start to finish, without the usual “pulling of hairs” that I was prone to do. Maybe the secret was that I did a “clear all” before importing the text. Whatever it was that did the trick, I felt like shouting Hallelujah! And I did!

My children’s story for this week is going to be about a boy and the echo. He complained to his mom that there was a bad boy in the woods, who just shouted bad and ugly words to him. His mom asked him if he had said any bad words, and he admitted to doing so. “Maybe you should go into the wood and shout good words,” his mom sad. And that is what the boy did! Guess what? The boy in the woods shouted good word to him!

This was the message in my Bible reading this morning:

“Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, especially to those who belong to the family of believers” (Gal 6:9-10).

There is a saying in Spanish, “Haz bien, sin mirar a quien.” Do good without thinking about who you’re doing it to. Reboot your thinking and clear all disturbing noise, and do good!

Like the boy and the echo, whatever you throw out will come back to you.

This is Jesus’ teaching:

  • Do not judge, and you will not be judged.
  • Do not condemn, and you will not be condemned.
  • Forgive, and you will be forgiven.
  • Give, and it will be given to you.

A good measure

  • pressed down
  • shaken together
  • running over

will be poured into your lap.

For with the measure you use,
it will be measured to you.
(Luke 6:37-38)

Do you need to reboot? I learned this morning that rebooting is a wonderful thing!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Generosity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

