Why do I serve Jesus?

My son-in-law asked me that question today. I have not thought too much about it because for me it’s second nature. I have been serving him all my life and cannot think about not doing it. Many would answer that they serve Jesus to give back for all he has done for us. That’s true. I serve him because I love him!

My daughter Eva-Marie struggled with a chronic condition all her life. Of course, we prayed and hoped for her healing. She wanted to be a missionary, but it was not an easy thing with her health problems. She said, “I will serve Jesus whether he heals me or not.” She loved the Lord but never had the privilege to be what she considered a “missionary.” But she showed the love of Jesus to all the health professionals that we visited and that came to our home to give her treatments. This December 13 it will be ten years since she was delivered from a body plagued by illness. Now she is free from the bonds of sickness to serve Jesus for eternity!

I took two of my granddaughters to church with me today. Brianna loves to sing and in First Assembly of Fort Gibson the pastor will give her the opportunity to do so. On our way to church I told her we do not sing to show off but to honor Jesus. Brianna wanted to sing a song she learned at VBS this summer. Lana thought of another song. Up on the platform Brianna sang “half” her song, which totally disoriented her sister Lana, who could not remember what she was going to sing. The “nerves” had gotten the best of Brianna.

This girl is very open to the things of God, and when she heard the question about why we serve Jesus, her answer was “because he loves us and has done so much for us.”

The sermon this morning was about serving the Lord, building his Kingdom, and the preacher went all out illustrating it. With the microphone in one hand and using her other hand to put on the gear, she managed to dress like a builder.

Of course, the main message was pointing to the cross. I remember a song from way back, “If it weren’t for Jesus where would I be?”

Why do I serve Jesus? I love him. I want others to love him. I can’t think of another life than of service to him. I find my fulfillment in him.

Pastor and author John Piper says, “God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in him.”

I can’t think of anything else than to give my all to Jesus. I find all my satisfaction in him.

Something that blessed me immensely today was that “my girls” went forward in the altar service to pray. I asked Brianna what she wanted to pray about. “Your feet,” she said. Then everyone prayed for me. I’m expecting a miracle, but just as Eva-Marie said, even if it doesn’t happen, I will serve Jesus with all I have to give.

Do you serve Jesus? Why? Think about it!

If you do not serve the Lord, today is the perfect day to make a total change. Nothing in the whole world compares to the privilege of serving Jesus.

Click on KNOWING JESUS, Follow Christ  above on the right.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Service. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

