The Price of Aging

Just as cars and other machinery rusts and goes bad with the passing of time, age takes its toll on our body. I’m feeling it! One thing and another is not working like 20-40 years ago.

This is going to be a short message, and maybe even short ones in the next few days. I just had one small “malfunction” taken care of and I have to take it easy to heal quickly. My dermatologist did some surgery, removing a cancerous mole by my left eye. Hopefully he got it all out. I had prayer for him before the procedure, asking God to guide his hands. That felt good!

Last night I prayed by phone for my friend and prayer partner Iris in Florida. She has been suffering with shingles on her back for three weeks and these past few nights the pain has been so bad she has not been able to sleep. Her plea to God has been that he would take her home. She is 84 years old and feels she is done with this world.

Do pray with me for her recovery! I don’t want to be selfish but I would like to keep my friend for some more time. She has adopted my grandchildren as her spiritual grandchildren and she prays for them daily. We need Iris and her prayers.

Before having my eye worked on (not the eye, but the surrounding area) I had lab work done at my regular doctor’s office. Early in the morning the walking is usually very painful, so I asked for a wheelchair. When leaving the office there was no one to push me. Guess who came around the corner? My doctor! She was gracious and wheeled me out. I sure appreciated that.

One thing my late husband never had to go through was to be alone with his aches and pains. He had me, until the very end. And I went with him to all the doctor visits. I could not be with him constantly during his hospital stays because I had to work, but I spent the evenings with him.

A weakening body is the price of aging, and I can’t say I like it. But there is another side of the coin, expressed in these words by the apostle Paul,

2 Corintians 4:16-18
“Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal. “

It might not be fun with the body that shows the signs of aging, but the spiritual renewal day by day I sure appreciate. The more I walk with Jesus, the more precious he is to me. With him out sunset years can be the best!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Aging. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

