Nature’s Forces

I’ve been watching the News and the images from the devastation left by hurricane Irene. Like in the previous disasters that have hit our country it breaks my heart. I heard that there have been 66 disasters this year in the US. I’ve lived here for 23 years now and can’t remember hearing about such devastation as this year. The fact is, I had never even heard of hurricanes before coming here from living in the mountains of South America.

When hurricane Andrews hit Florida, my daughter Carina and I were in Dallas, Texas, getting her settled at Christ for the Nations Institute, and my husband and our daughter Eva-Marie rode it out in Fort Lauderdale. My husband was so tired after boarding up the house that he slept through the worst of it. Eva-Marie hid in a closet, listening in panic to the wind and the tress falling around her and on the house.

The worst of storms I have experienced was in 2007 when a huge ice-storm hit Springfield, Missouri. We had a big tree by our bedroom window and to hear the limbs falling on the house was eerie. We should have moved out of the bedroom. One of the heavy branches could have gone right through the roof! We weren’t that smart! When the power went out we had to seek shelter with some friends.

Have some “freezing” pictures in the heat of summer!

I’ve had the tree cut down. I don’t want to have that experience again. Storms, hurricanes, tornadoes, earthquakes… we are so helpless to nature’s forces. Such power! But nothing compared to the power of the Creator.

I don’t understand the powers of nature.

I don’t have answers to why disasters hit.

I only know that I live in the shelter of the Almighty, that whatever happens I’m safe in his arms.

The increase of all these natural disasters speaks to me about the closeness of the great day I’m waiting for, when Jesus comes back. Jesus himself talked about some of these signs of the end of times.

“When you hear of wars and revolutions, do not be frightened. These things must happen first, but the end will not come right away…
Nation will rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom. There will be great earthquakes, famines and pestilences in various places, and fearful events and great signs from heaven…
There will be signs in the sun, moon and stars. On the earth, nations will be in anguish and perplexity at the roaring and tossing of the sea. Men will faint from terror, apprehensive of what is coming on the world, for the heavenly bodies will be shaken.
At that time they will see the Son of Man coming in a cloud with power and great glory.
When these things begin to take place, stand up and lift up your heads, because your redemption is drawing near.” (See Luke 21:9-28)

 This is our hope!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Jesus return. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

