The Gift and Blessing of Prophesy

God has given the church many gifts to build up and encourage the Body. I believe this is one of the many blessings Paul writes about to the church of Ephesus:

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ” (Eph 1:3).

I’ve been making a list of those blessings, and they are so great and so vast there is no end to them. I will probably continue listing them the rest of my life and not finish. Let me give you some scriptures about prophesy, which is the Holy Spirit speaking through a believer to strengthen and encourage other believers.

Joel 2:28-29
And afterward, I will pour out my Spirit on all people.
Your sons and daughters will prophesy,
your old men will dream dreams,
your young men will see visions.
Even on my servants, both men and women,
I will pour out my Spirit in those days.

In Paul’s first letter to the church in Corinth are the most specific instructions.

1 Corinthians 14:1-3
Follow the way of love and eagerly desire spiritual gifts, especially the gift of prophecy. For anyone who speaks in a tongue does not speak to men but to God. Indeed, no one understands him; he utters mysteries with his spirit. But everyone who prophesies speaks to men for their

  • strengthening
  • encouragement
  • comfort

Read chapters 12 through 14. Nestled in between is the “Chapter of Love.” That contains the most amazing instruction on how we should live our life for Christ. See here what Paul says!

“If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing” (1 Cor 13:2).

Love is the key! Without love we are nothing!

Sometimes God will use prophesy to give personal instruction, like with Timothy:

“Timothy, my son, I give you this instruction in keeping with the prophecies once made about you, so that by following them you may fight the good fight… Do not neglect your gift, which was given you through a prophetic message when the body of elders laid their hands on you” (1 Tim 1:18; 4:14).

The apostle Paul encouraged the church to eagerly desire the greater gifts. “Since you are eager to have spiritual gifts, try to excel in gifts that build up the church” (1 Cor 14:12).

The following are words that God encouraged me with through a prophesy. I’m sure they will build your faith and give you comfort and encouragement.

 

The theme for this month’s Blog Roll I’m signed up in is RETURN. I know nothing better than to RETURN to the Word of God, and to do it daily.

This month we will be concentrating on the spiritual blessings we have in Christ. I can never RETURN too often to meditate on God’s blessings. I invite you to RETURN with me!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Blessings in Christ, Return. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

