My First Driver’s License

I didn’t write very much about my trip to the Amish Country together with my now soon ten-years-gone-to-heaven daughter. It was too painful. You’d think I had gotten over the loss of her, but I probably never will. For each passing year I feel the void greater. My daughter—my friend! I live on the memories.

One thing very characteristic about the Amish is their mode of transportation. I wonder, do they need a driver’s license?

Today marks 47 years since I got my first one. I was 18! At that time I was busy with itineration to raise support for my mission-calling. I was going to Peru as a missionary. I had low cash-supply, and definitely not what I needed for driving lessons.

I prayed about it and asked the Lord to give me a sign if that is what I should do. Not long after the “sign” came in the form of a hundred-crown bill. One hundred crowns today is sixteen dollars. My memory might fail me. Could it have been a thousand-crown bill? That sounds more like a supply enough to cover driving lessons.

Whatever it was, one hundred or a thousand crowns, it got me on my way to take the needed lessons and be approved for the license. I don’t have a copy of the original driver’s license, but here is a copy of one I received a few years later.

I’ve had licenses in Sweden, Peru, and Bolivia. I’ve had several “international” licenses and licenses in three US states: Florida, Colorado, and Missouri.

My worse experience was in Florida. We were there as tourists and I was driving with my international license, but as our plans were to stay, I needed one from Florida. So I drove to one of the offices where I could get this taken care of. I’m highlighting the word drove because you don’t drive yourself to get your first license. You have to have a driver!

Since I had been driving for 25 years, it wasn’t a big deal for me to drive myself to the driver’s license bureau. But that was a BIG offense, so big that I almost didn’t get approved!

When the time came to do the driving test, the lady officer in charge said, “Have your driver bring the car over!”

ME: “I don’t have a driver. I’m driving myself.”

OFFICER: “What do you mean you don’t have a driver?”

ME: “Madam, I didn’t have anybody to drive me.” (I might not have said “Madam” since I was new in the States and had not yet learned to use that word.)

OFFICER: “Don’t you know that you can’t drive yourself when you don’t have a license?”

ME: “I am so sorry. I’m new here and I didn’t know that.”

OFFICER: “Do you know that I could deny you the license?”

If I didn’t know it before, I knew it now. I was trembling! I needed that license so badly. How would I otherwise get to work and provide for my family? (I was the one had the work permit!)

I went and got the car. I took the driving test. I passed the test. But would I pass in the eyes of the disgusted officer. Her negative attitude towards me showed big time!

As I had done those 25 years ago when I needed money to learn to drive and get my first license, I did now. I prayed! I did more. I pleaded! I cried out in my heart to God to give me favor with this lady. I had no favor with her.

And out of the blue came the answer. No, it came from far above “the blue.” My God intervened and touched the heart of this lady. In a disgusted voice she cried out, “Okay! I’m going to make an exception. Here you go! Have your license!”

I could have hugged her, but you don’t do that with an officer at the driver’s license bureau. So I expressed my thanks the very best I could. And I left quickly before she might change her mind.

That was 22 years ago! I’m still using the same method in my anguished situations. There is no other way than to pray!

I was honored the other day when my dad sent an email asking me to pray for a certain situation (to protect his privacy I will not mention the cause). These are his words, “God usually answers your prayers, so why not this one?”

Prayer is my life-line. It can be yours, too. It’s not a coincidence that my first blog was on prayer: Before all else fails, pray! https://kelund.wordpress.com/2009/05/page/3/

I believe in prayer. The privilege to address God is one of the greatest blessings in Christ. Whatever your need is, go to the Lord in prayer. Sounds too good to be true? Not with God. But there is a catch, a “fine print” so to speak. We need to love the Lord our God, love each other, and obey his commands. Then the Father will give us whatever we ask for in Jesus’ name.

This is what Jesus told his disciples:

John 15:12-17
My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends. You are my friends if you do what I command. I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you. You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you to go and bear fruit-fruit that will last. Then the Father will give you whatever you ask in my name. This is my command: Love each other.

May you enjoy the blessings of answered prayers! And don’t drive yourself to get your license. Have someone drive you!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Return. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

