The Prison Basket

Ten years ago, today, the angels came to Vrigstad, Sweden to take my mother home to heaven. She had a long and fruitful life in missionary ministry. To honor her memory I was hoping to enclose a PDF of a book she and my dad have written about their “adventures” in serving God: A Life of Adventure. My linking system is not working, but if you email me, I’ll send you the file. Find the address at the end of this blog.

One of her many “adventures” was helping the women in the prison in Huancayo, Peru. She provided yarn for them and then she would buy the sweaters they knitted, thus providing them with some cash. The sweaters she would give to children in need. Here is her recount of a vision and fulfillment that had to do with this ministry:

A Baptist pastor from California felt God’s call to go to Peru to work among the Catholics. God used that brother to bless many with his ministry, and he had good contact with many priests and nuns. On some occasions we were with him when they gathered for prayer and Bible study. Sometimes they met in his home.

   On one occasion, when I was a guest in their home, two nuns from Canada came and also some Peruvian nuns and one priest. That evening we were sitting around their big coffee table. I sat on the table and asked them to pray for me. The pastor’s wife needed prayer for her health and sat beside me. At the other side sat one of the Canadian nuns. She was about my age and she asked for prayers because she felt, as she said, many stones on her way.

   The younger nun from Canada put her hand on my shoulder and said, “I have a vision and I see you running around in the mountains like a young girl with a basket in your hand.” I thought, Will I run as a girl with a basket in my hand? With my failing heart I could not run and I did not use any basket. I forgot the whole thing.

   Some years later I had special treatments in order to improve my health. I had a failing heart, but after the treatment I felt better than I had for years. I was glad to be able to work again. People began to wonder what had happened to me and some said that I was running around like a young girl. Lena, a girl from Sweden lived with us and together we went to the prison and helped the women that were incarcerated. We bought yarn and other things they needed. One day I said to Lena that I had to buy a basket. It seemed so practical to carry our stuff. That basket went with me everywhere and it was very handy. Certainly I was running around in the mountains like a young girl with a basket in my hand. But I did not remember the vision about the basket.

   One day, six years after the prayer meeting in Lima, I awoke from my siesta and heard a voice saying, “I see you running around in the mountains like a young girl with a basket in your hand.” Then I remembered the vision and knew it had become a reality.

Mom and Dad in younger years
First shovel in one of their many building projects

I’ve said it before, and I will say it again, how proud I am for the Christian heritage I have from my parents. I hope with all my heart I can pass on that heritage to my daughter and my grandchildren!

For a PDF of A Life of Adventure, write kelund AT att.net.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Prison Basket

  1. ncrowson says:

    What a lovely story, Kerstin. Your mom and dad were wonderful people. It was a priviledge to know them even for a short time. And to get to know you, through them. Have a blessed day, Nancy.

Leave a Reply

