I’m Adopted

The most glorious, wonderful reality of my life is that I’M ADOPTED! I paid tribute yesterday to my mother, who for ten years has been in her eternal home. She was also ADOPTED! I’m talking about the adoption into the Family of God.

I was reminded of this Sunday evening in the teaching one of the brothers of our church had (we are between pastors). His message (although he made sure to let us know he is not a preacher but a teacher) had close to ten points on some of our privileges and responsibilities as children of the King. The “adoption” is a big one! Read about it in Romans 8:12-17.

Adoption has been on the front burner these last few days as I’ve read Mary Beth Chapman’s book Choosing to SEE. She is the wife of recording artist Steven Curtis Chapman. The book is about the loss of their youngest adopted daughter from China in a tragic accident, but also very much so about their passion for orphans and adoption. I recommend the book, published by Revell, and do go to the website showhope.org and find out about this extraordinary ministry for those that are very close to God’s heart: the orphans. Widows and orphans are in a category that God cares much about. Just check it out in his Word. I know it, because since I’ve been widowed I’ve been claiming that special care, and I’m experiencing it big time.

I have been ADOPTED into the family of God, and I have enjoyed my adoption privileges for sixty years. The best part is that I have an eternity to look forward to. If you are not sure of your ADOPTION, check out the message in the margin about KNOWING JESUS, Follow Christ. I wish for everyone to be ADOPTED as a child of God.

Very close to home, I have an adopted granddaughter. Here is a picture I cherish, from the day she officially became part of our family. That she was born on the same day as her adopted brother David has always been a sign for me about God’s special care for this little girl. I chuckle every time David talks about her as his “twin” and that their mother had to stay a long time in the hospital because he was born in the morning and she came in the afternoon! One of these days they’ll figure out the ADOPTION part on the equation. That will make their relation even more precious for these “twins.”

Do go to showhope.org to find out about orphans and adoption. According to Mary Beth there are 140 million orphans in the world. Through this ministry of Show Hope, more than “2,500 children from 45 countries now home with loving families… and that number just keeps growing” (quote from the book).

If you are ADOPTED, rejoice in Christ! If not, don’t delay your decision to become a child of God. Nothing compares to be ADOPTED by Him!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

