Only “God Movies”

My granddaughter Brianna is very particular about the she only wants to watch “God Movies.” Bible Man and Veggie Tales are among those considered in that category.

This reminds me of my daughter Eva-Marie when she was nine years old. We had the privilege to go to a Christian campsite for a few days. She went to the services and the Bible studies, because she said she had come there to study God’s Word. That warmed my heart.

The week we spent there at the Samuelson’s Camp in Öland, Sweden with pastor Stanley Sjöberg as the main speaker was life-changing for her. Her most wonderful experience was to be baptized in the Holy Spirit.

That takes me back to when I was nine years old and I was praying to receive that same wonderful experience. I think we had revival meetings or maybe it was just in our regular services. I know that I stayed late, and it was not only one time. But one evening, around midnight, I was baptized in the Holy Spirit. It was an amazing experience to be filled with the power of God and speak in tongues.

I was overjoyed! One of the adults took me home. Mom greeted me at the door, half sleepy-eyed. I couldn’t understand why she wasn’t jumping up and down, rejoicing with me. Give her some slack! She had been taken out of bed. It was very late when I came home!

We had revival at the church, and what I remember is how devoted to God I was. Don’t tell me you can’t be on fire for God when you’re nine years old. I know by experience that you sure can! That’s why it warms my heart to see the hunger for God Brianna has. I hope and pray she will always be “hungry”!

On one hand she can find fulfillment and satisfaction in Christ but on the other hand I hope she will always hunger for more of God.

This is Jesus’ promise in the Beatitudes

“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness,
for they will be filled”
(Matthew 5:6).

Jesus fills our hunger and thirst, but may we have that hunger every day! All the promises in the Bible are true. All God’s blessings are for God’s children today. Some argue that certain blessings were only for the people in those times, that the giftings of God have ceased. Where do they draw the line?

Salvation, sanctification, the fruit of the Spirit, the gifts of the Spirit… the list could go on and on. There is no end to the blessings God has in store for those who walk in his ways.

I hope all my grandchildren will hunger for God, today and every day of their life. Jesus said that we are blessed when we hunger and thirst for righteousness.

May we turn all our desires only toward “God things”!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Power. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

