Three Tomatoes

I’m very excited! I had given up on my tomato plants; they were growing tall but giving no fruit. Yesterday, when I wondered if I should just stop the watering because it’s very stressful on my feet, I discovered this!

I’ve never had tomato plants so this was a first. I had been thinking about a parable that Jesus told about a man that had a fig tree in his vineyard, and he went to look for fruit on it, but didn’t find any. He had the thought of cutting it down, because he had been looking for fruit for three years and found none. Why should it use up the soil?

Similar to what I was thinking. Why should I waste my energy walking around watering them. The fact is that they are in different corners of the yard, the soil is hard because of lack of rain, and every step I take to water them is very painful.

The man tending the vineyard said, “Sir, leave it alone for one more year. I’ll dig around it and fertilize it. If it doesn’t bear fruit next year, fine! We’ll cut it down.”  (See Luke 13:6-9.)

Fertilizer! I’ve been thinking I should have fertilized the ground. It might be too late now. Next year I’ll put the tomato plants close to the door and make sure to fertilize them.

This afternoon I discovered two more tomatoes! I have quite a few little yellow flowers on the plants so they might give me more surprises. It’s predicted to be warm next week. Maybe I should get some fertilizer…

I’ve been thinking about myself compared to the plants in my yard. I want to bear fruit! I want my Savior to be happily surprised with fruit in my life. Of course, nothing is a surprise for the Lord because he knows the end from the beginning, but I still like to think about it that way.

Jesus said to his disciples, “You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you to go and bear fruit-fruit that will last” (John 15:16).

I am appointed to bear fruit! Is my Lord disappointed when he sees my life? Or does he look with pleasure at the fruit? I hope so!

In 1 Thess 1:3, the apostle Paul thanked God for the Thessalonians, remembering their

  • WORK produced by faith
  • LABOR prompted by love
  • ENDURANCE inspired by hope

“And now these three remain:

  • faith,
  • hope and
  • love.

But the greatest of these is love” (1 Cor 13:13).

I hope the three main “tomatoes” in my life are faith, hope and love!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Fruit. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

