My New Bike

Finally I’m going to be able to get out and get some exercise. I love to ride the bike, but I sold mine last year. It wasn’t mine, but my dear husbands. He used it so little it literally became mine.

Why did I sell my bike? It was old and rusty from the humidity in Florida. But I didn’t care! Can you believe I had that bike for 22 years and never had a problem with the wheels, other than pumping air in them once in a while?! If that wasn’t a miracle bike, I don’t know what is.

My old, faithful servant had heard many prayers. It had carried me to the beach in Hollywood, Florida; the beach that saw many of my tears but that also heard many of my songs of thanksgiving to God. In times when we lived relatively close to a supermarket, that’s where we went my bike and I. Out to the beautiful wild-flower fields we rode in Colorado. In Springfield we especially enjoyed the fall season with the multicolored autumn leaves.

Our last times together, my old bike and I spent in the park close to my house, a park that had recently been upgraded with an asphalted path. Early in the mornings we rode around, and around, and around… all with the purpose of losing weight (me!). Such dear memories!

And then I sold it! Not because it was rusty. I just sold it at my farewell garage sale. It felt almost like treason, like letting go of a dear and faithful friend. But I was moving to a place with just gravel roads, and I figured my bicycling days were over.

Now I’m back in the game! Some “angel” friends took me to Walmart to find a new bike. Here it is in all its beauty, the colors matching my Princess Room. I feel like I’ve been reborn. I’m back at my old place and now I can go ride at the park and make this new bicycle a trusted friend.

My two modes of transportation!

Another picker-upper for the day is that we went to Sam’s Club and I got a new Phone Card to call internationally. I know! Don’t say it! I should use Skype! It’s just a matter of fact to get set up. I like using a phone card. I have not chosen long-distance phone service to save some dollars. Now I can make some overseas calls that are way overdue! I was just hoping for someone that would take me to Sam’s Club. I used to be a member. But what’s the point with my lonesome self!

I’m very excited. My friend put up a shelf for me where I can organize my different projects. And now we have a plan to make me a desk for my computer, scanner, and printer. My old, faithful desk is in Fort Gibson and I can’t find one like it. I bought it at Sam’s Club 16 years ago. Now I’m going to get two double drawers file cabinets and put them as support on both sides of the space and lay a big board on top, one that we’ve used for garage sales. I’m done with garage sales! At the moment I’m using a folding table.

This is where I am at ten years after the tragic 9/11. I’ll talk about that tomorrow. Guess what I’m going to do now? I’m going to take a ride with my new pink and green friend. Hopefully we’ll have as good times as we had, my old bike and I!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

