Ten Years Ago

We’ve seen so many pictures of those burning Twin Towers that we know them by heart at this point. At least if you live in the United States and keep up with the news casts.

I was at work at Life Publishers in Springfield, Missouri when it all happened. My fellow citizens know the feeling we had that day. Indescribable horror!

My mother had passed away a week before and my American brother and I had our tickets to go to the funeral. But those hopes were shattered as all hell broke loose—yes, that’s what it was!

We were dismissed to go home. I was in a state of shock and couldn’t get to packing my bags. Should I be flying under these conditions? Very quickly a decision was made for me. All flights were cancelled.

I was sad. I had “looked forward” to the funeral. Can you say you look forward to a funeral? When it’s your chance to say your last good-bye, yes! This was just one in the thousands of funerals that would follow in days to come. Little did I know that by the end of the year I would be following my first-born to her last earthly abode.

Two years ago, I went to Sweden and visited my mother’s grave. It brought some closure. Of course, I know she wasn’t there. Only her shell had been put in the ground. Her spirit was forever with God.

This is the hope we have in Christ:

“Brothers, we do not want you to be ignorant about those who fall asleep, or to grieve like the rest of men, who have no hope. 14 We believe that Jesus died and rose again and so we believe that God will bring with Jesus those who have fallen asleep in him” (1 Thess 4:13-14).

We have the hope of reunion! I pray that you will have the same hope.

Jesus is the only way to God: Follow Him!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Return. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

