Enjoy Life

Last week I received this as part of an email from a friend in Sweden:

Jag hoppas du mår bra och inte har alltför mycket om kring dig utan har tid att njuta lite av natur och allt gott Gud omger oss med.

Let me translate: “I hope you are doing well and don’t have too much to do but that you can enjoy some of nature and all the good things God surrounds us with.”

That was a wake-up call, a reminder of how important it is to enjoy life. Just days before I had fixed this quote, to post when it was convenient. This is the time!

I’m enjoying life today. I thought of this especially as I took a 25 minute ride on my new bike. I’m sure this is going to have a positive effect on my hurting feet as it gets the blood circulation going. Before the ride I had enjoyed the bird’s morning orchestra. It was still dark (probably because of daylight savings time) when I opened my window and enjoyed reading my Bible with that musical background.

An interesting detail, I was reminded in my reading that God “richly provides us with everything for our enjoyment” (1 Tim 6:17).

After enjoying my time of fellowship with God reading his Word I enjoyed prayer time riding around the neighborhood breathing the fresh morning air and filling my spiritual lungs with prayers for family and friends and my neighbors. Prayer is oxygen for the Christian.

Mid-morning they called from my dentist asking if I could come in for my first deep-cleaning as there was an opening. This was not an enjoyable thing. I have been diagnosed with Periodontal Disease. So I decided to dress up for the occasion.

I bought a sparkly top to use on the wedding weekend this past summer. It’s been hanging in the closet ever since I came home. The logical would have been to just put on a T-shirt for the dentist visit. But I wanted to enjoy myself. So I put on the sparkly black-and-white shirt and a necklace to go with it. And I received many compliments. Isn’t it amazing how compliments pick us up?

To enjoy life is a choice. Even in the midst of not so enjoyable circumstances, we have the choice to enjoy any situation that arises.

I asked a question this morning while the birds were singing and the sun was peeking up through the horizon: “Does God want us to be happy and enjoy life?” I answered with some Scriptures, following the one mentioned above.

Acts 14:17
“[God] has shown kindness by giving you rain from heaven and crops in their seasons; he provides you with plenty of food and fills your hearts with joy.”

Psalm 4:7
You have filled my heart with greater joy than when their grain and new wine abound.”

Psalm 65:11
“You crown the year with your bounty, and your carts overflow with abundance.”

John 10:10
“The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I [Jesus] have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.”

Ecclesiastes 9:7
“Go, eat your food with gladness, and drink your wine with a joyful heart, for it is now that God favors what you do.”

I didn’t add verse 9. That was one my late husband loved: “Enjoy life with your wife, whom you love.” I hope someday I can enjoy life with “a husband, whom I love.” As for now, I’m just looking for everyday things to enjoy, like dressing up as for a wedding when you go to the dentist!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Encouragement. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

