The Teacher in Me

I’ve been reading Paul’s letter to his spiritual son Timothy, and noticed that in both letters he mentions his appointment, to be…

  • a herald
  • an apostle
  • a teacher

One of those appointments is very evident in me. I’m a teacher! I’m never happier than when I can teach. I had hoped that after I retired from my regular job I would travel the world teaching. That was my goal. It still is. I might not be traveling through the air by plane, but I’m traveling through cyber-space teaching in different countries every week by my Spanish blogs. I’ve not given up on physical presence; I’m just waiting ‘till I get better in my feet.

Today I’ve spent the day writing my weekly story for kids. This one is modernized! It’s about a boy that received two letters; one about winning a contest and the other was an invitation from his uncle to go on a vacation trip. He got so excited about winning a drawing contest that he forgot about the other letter.

I thought about our modern days when snail-mail almost is a thing of the past. So I gave the boy a computer and an account on Hotmail, and let him “forget” to check the e-mail, even being disobedient to his mom that asked him to do it.

What were the consequences? The e-mail that the boy didn’t check was an invitation to go on vacation with his uncle and cousins. When his uncle came to pick him up, it was too late. He missed the fun trip because he didn’t read the letter and wasn’t ready.

Many countries in Latin America celebrate September as Bible Month, so I’m giving the teachers that visit me through cyber-space stories related to kids and the Bible. This one is about reading God’s Letter to us–the Bible. The most important thing is to be ready for the great day when Jesus will come back to take us to Heaven.

This week I added a Bible Quiz and it was so much fun I translated it to English. So I’m giving you a PDF that you can print and then answer the questions. You’ll print “twins,” so you can share a quiz with your kids or your friends. Just have a Bible handy and you’ll be able to figure out the numbers for the answers, by looking up references and doing some counting.

Click here: Bible & Math

Remember I was counting tomatoes? I can now use one hand to “show-off” how many I have. Can you believe it? An entire summer’s work for only five tomatoes! I have not been appointed to be a farmer. So I’ll stick with what I’m good at. To teach and encourage!

I like triads, and I’ve realized the apostle Paul loved to mention things in groups of three. One of these days I’m going to have a blog about all the “triads” I’ve been collecting over the years. If I should describe myself and my calling in a set of three, it would be…

  • a teacher
  • an encourager
  • a servant

I want to be and instrument for noble purposes…

  • made holy
  • useful to the Master
  • prepared to do any good work (2 Tim 2:21)

The Lord’s servant must not quarrel. So, I must be…

  • kind to everyone
  • able to teach
  • not resentful (v. 24)

Now the teacher in me has to take a break and put a cooking hat on. I’m excited about tonight and the finale of America’s Got Talent. That’s about the only show I’ve been watching this summer, except for Wheel of Fortune, of course, and many Praise the Lord programs on TBN.

The “teacher” in me will be back. But I might have another hat on tomorrow!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

