An Unusual Hiding Place

I’m not playing Hide and Seek, looking for an unusual place to hide. This is about a Bible, more than 200 years ago, and a very crafty missionary wife.

I’m preparing a story this week about Missionary Adoniram Judson who went to Burma. He worked diligently to translate the Bible. When he had the New Testament done he was incarcerated for this faith. His wife, Ann, was very concerned about the manuscript and what to do with it. First she hid it in the garden. Then she had the brilliant idea of making a pillow to hide it in. The brave and persistent servant of God rested his head at night on the Word!

I love mission stories. I’m inspired and humbled by the brave men and women that through the ages have served the Master. Many have sacrificed their lives so that we and others around the world can have the Word of God.

Here is a picture a friend in Bolivia did for the story. It wasn’t a Bible in Spanish (which the man is holding), but what can I do. When people volunteer to draw pictures I can’t be too picky.

I’ve been busy all day working on illustrations and crafts for the teachers. One of the pieces I’ve translated to English. Maybe you know someone that can use it. It’s about 12 things the Bible is…

  • Light
  • Mirror
  • Sword
  • Hammer
  • Fire
  • Gold
  • Water
  • Bread
  • Milk
  • Solid food
  • Honey
  • Seed

Click here if you want a pdf: The Bible is…

Adoniram Judson’s wife hid a Bible manuscript in a pillow. That was an unusual place. Where have you hidden the Word? Do as the psalmist!

I have hidden your word in my heart
that I might not sin against you.
Psalm 119:11

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Bible. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

