Best Solution for Cranky

My three-year-old granddaughter Sarah surprised her mother the other day. After lunch she said, “Mom, I’m cranky. I need to take a nap.” She usually takes naps but lately has not been very keen on it.

Sarah went to her room, and half hour later came out saying, “I’m not cranky anymore!” Her little nap solved the problem.

A nap! What a perfect solution to being cranky!

I am going to spend some quality-time with this girl the next few days as I’m helping my daughter with some baby-sitting. When Sarah saw me this afternoon she was very excited and was quick to tell me the last thing she’s learned. “You have lots of bones inside!”

I have more than bones inside. I’ve got a heart that beats for these children.

This afternoon three of them had appointments, so Brianna (6) and I spent quality-time when she came back from school. Tomorrow, all of them except Lana have appointments, so she and I will have quality-time. David wondered when he is going to get quality-time with me. So I told him we can spend Saturday morning together.

Quality-time and nap-time, two very important features in a child’s life. Not only for them. I think we all need a nap once in a while and also to spend quality-time with family and friends.

When David said it wasn’t fair that only the girls got to spend time with me, his dad told him many things in life will not seem fair to him, but there is only one thing that’s not fair, that Jesus, the Holy Son of God, who never sinned, never disobeyed, was killed and died on the cross for our sins.

To reflect on Jesus and his loving sacrifice for us makes everything that would make us cranky or unhappy fade at the light of his incredible love.

Let me encourage you with some words about God’s love expressed in Jesus’ unselfish sacrifice for us, sinners and unworthy.

Psalm 108:4
For great is your love, higher than the heavens;
your faithfulness reaches to the skies.

Psalm 145:8-9
The LORD is gracious and compassionate,
slow to anger and rich in love.
The LORD is good to all;
he has compassion on all he has made.

Romans 5:8
But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

2 Corinthians 5:14-15
For Christ’s love compels us, because we are convinced that one died for all, and therefore all died. 15And he died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again.

1 John 3:16
This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers.

1 John 4:10-12
This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins. 11Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. 12No one has ever seen God; but if we love one another, God lives in us and his love is made complete in us.

“Mercy, peace and love be yours in abundance” (Jude 2).

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Love. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

