Resilience

I haven’t felt as good as I feel today  as far back as I can remember, way before BC (before cancer). (Read: felt yesterday, as I managed to oversleep from my evening nap and not wake up until after midnight to finish writing!) Could it be that the resolve stamped in my new journal has something to do with it?

I’m a journal addict! I’ve dedicated a bookcase in my bedroom to the journals, but before organizing them by date I took a picture. The row on the right is of my diaries. The row on the left contains my prayer journals!

 

 Front page of my newest journal, started today

Could it be the beautiful fall weather? I’ve just been doing the rounds in my neighborhood enjoying my new bike, and now I’m waiting for my dinner that’s cooking in the oven. It’s a dish inspired by my dad’s Peruvian wife. I wish they were here with me so we could enjoy it together.

Let me show you the process.

Buy a medium size yucca root and use your sturdiest knife to cut through it.

Peel the yucca and cook it in plenty of water with some salt.

Add some potatoes to give it a softer texture and enhance the taste.

Take a bike-ride while they’re cooking. That’s what I did. Some 25-30 minute will do.

Drain most of the water into another dish and then mash the yucca and the potatoes. Add to the mixture some of the water you drained. It should be very watery or the end product will be too compact.

The “queso fresco” is the secret ingredient! You got to have that tasty Latin-style cheese. If not, use whatever is in your fridge. Put half of the mixture in a bake-safe dish and then add the cheese and cover with the rest. I sprinkled grated Parmesan cheese on top!

Put in the oven at 425 degrees and sit down to watch the news, and write a blog? I’m a multi-tasker so that what I’m doing while my yucca is cooking in the oven. Some 30 minutes will do fine.

Take a break and fix a salad. Then enjoy! Use portion-control. It’s starchy!

Resilience! That’s my motivation for the coming months. I looked it up in my Dictionary from when I first came to the States. It means the ability to bounce or spring back into shape or position, to recover strength or spirits quickly.

More than bouncing back I want to bounce forward. I wake up every morning proclaiming that I’m doing a little better than yesterday. Slowly but surely I’m bouncing back to health.

I hope to keep up my resolve of resilience!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

