Black-eyed Boy

Yesterday was Awana day. They have a wonderful program for the children at a Baptist church in Fort Gibson every Wednesday evening. Here are my kids ready to go to their classes.

Just as the Assemblies of God have their Royal Rangers and Girls Ministries, the Baptists have Awana. I have wondered what the name stands for, but yesterday I found a bulletin board inside the church that gave me the answer: Approved Workers Are Not Ashamed, taken from 2 Timothy 2:15.

David got a booster for his medication and he did so well last evening that all his teachers had to compliment him. But all was not fun and dandy. As it’s bound to happen with boys, one of them knocked into David and gave him a black eye. David said he thought it was on purpose but then he realized it was an accident. And the boy said he was sorry. Matter settled!

I wish we as adults could settle our differences that quickly. When someone “bumps” into us, let’s categorize it as an “accident” and then move on with no hurt feelings.

David’s first reaction on our way home after my daughter and I picked up the kids was, “Mom, can I take my black eye with me to school tomorrow?” And then it had to be reported to his dad, who’s on a business trip.

How we got from a black eye to talking about death, I don’t know.

Brianna said she wanted me to live until she’s a grandmother. I don’t know if I want to live that long. David said he wanted to die when he’s in his hundred and fifties. We all agreed that it would be nice if I could live until Brianna has her children. We’ve talked about it before and the great benefit they see in it is that I could watch their kids. Aren’t children just wonderful in their reasoning?!

About the black eye! David will have to live with it for a few days. The novelty will wear off, but at least for today he’ll be the talk of his class, I’m not venturing to say “the school” but it could well be since it’s a small country school.

Before he went to bed last night his mom took a picture and posted it on Facebook, which David was very much in favor of doing. I picked up the picture and I’m putting it here for a wider audience. You know, it’s not every day a person gets a black eye.

This is another day with baby-sitting. If all little girls were as easy to keep as Sarah, baby-sitting would be a breeze. As long as I keep her busy developing the Rapunzel story we are fine. We started out a few weeks ago with Rapunzel being in ONE storm, now she is in THREE storms and all kinds of another adventures. To be telling stories and be working on translations at the same time is quite a challenge, but multitasking has always been one of my strong points. But it sure is easier to do one thing at a time.

For those who might wonder how my friend with the shingles is doing. It’s over! She is well. She hopes to never again go through that experience. About David, if the black eye made him popular in school today, he might want to go through it again.

Be it as it be, whatever “bumps” hit us, let’s be positive about it. And if we manage to bump into someone, I hope “I’m sorry” will settle the matter.

May you have a “bump-free” day! No black eyes!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My grandchildren. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

