The Last Tomatoes

Today was harvest day! Frost is coming and if you leave the tomatoes on the plants they will freeze and be no good. I have my little Sarah with me for a few days and she had the privilege of helping me harvest the crop. It didn’t turn out much, but it has not been a good tomato year around here.

My friends that gave me the plants were here this afternoon. They said they hadn’t seen any plants as big and beautiful as mine. Kenny joked with me and said that it was because he had planted them. I can take some credit because I watered them. But if not for God’s grace there would have been no growth. He is the one that makes the seeds grow. Life comes from him. Scientists and evolutionists can come up with all kinds of theories, but the bottom line is that God is the Creator and Life-Giver!

Jesus said, “[God] causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous” (Matthew 5:45). And that is what keeps this world going. We sow the seed and God makes it grow.

At the end of May I had four little plants in my yard. The only thing I’ve done is water them. How exciting it was to discover the first tomato! At the final count I had 30 tomatoes! If it hadn’t been for the hot and dry summer I might have had al least 2 times more. The plants had all kinds of yellow flowers that had not pollinated.

What a joy it was for my little granddaughter to harvest together with me. We went through every branch to check for tomatoes and she got to put them in a basket. Now we will keep them in the sun to ripen.

 

 

Here ends my story about the tomatoes. Once again I have been reminded of the amazing growth God can give from a tiny seed, and in this case four little plants. Two of them had no fruit because they grew in the shade. If only they would have had enough sun! But the two that got plenty of sun where amazing. And now I can enjoy the fruit of my (very little) labor!

Don’t forget that you need the SON to shine on you. Then you will grow and multiply and be a joy to everyone that can enjoy the beautiful and savory fruit that your life produces.

John 15:1-8
“I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener [said Jesus]. He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful. You are already clean because of the word I have spoken to you. Remain in me, and I will remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me. 
“I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. If anyone does not remain in me, he is like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned. If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be given you. This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.” 
 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

