A Walk of Faith

It was interesting to see my three-year-old granddaughter Sarah put on roller skates, take some fumbling steps, and then skate away on her own. It reminded me of the Scriptures I had been reading about concerning one of my favorite Bible characters: Abraham.

My prayer the day before had been: “Lord, help me walk in the steps of faith that our father Abraham had.”

God had given him what seemed an “impossible promise” of a son. He faced the fact that his body was as good as dead-since he was about a hundred years old-and that his wife Sarah’s womb was also dead.

  • Against all hope, Abraham in hope believed
  • He did not weaken in his faith
  • He did not waver through unbelief regarding the promise of God
  • He was strengthened in his faith and gave glory to God
  • He was fully persuaded that God had power to do what he had promised
  • It was credited to him as righteousness
  • By faith Abraham, when called to go to a place he would later receive as his inheritance
  • He obeyed and went, even though he did not know where he was going
  • By faith he made his home in the promised land, like a stranger in a foreign country
  • He looked forward to the city with foundations, whose architect and builder is God

Read the complete account in Romans 4:18-25 and Hebrews 11:8-19. I love this story. The walk of faith of Abraham inspires me to walk by faith and obey God. I hope you, too, get inspired. We can also look forward to the “city with foundations, whose architect and builder is God.” One day, very soon, Jesus is coming to take us home. I can’t wait!

Here is a picture story of the “walk of faith” of Sarah in the skating rink.

 A slow start holding on to her mother

 Venturing out with her sister, the Birthday-girl

Faith takes over and Sarah is out on her own

I hadn’t put two and two together before, but this little girl has the name of the lady that walked by faith with our father Abraham. May she be a recipient of great miracles, like her namesake from old. A walk of faith with God is awesome!

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

