Perfect Timing

Today, four years ago, my father married for the second time. He had been a widower for six years and felt lonely. God brought into his life a “young” woman, a lady that had worked with him and my mother for many years in children’s ministry in Huancayo, Peru.

I’m the oldest of his five children, and felt the responsibility to take care of my elderly father (but he’s doing better than me health-wise!). It was hard, because we were continents apart. But now I don’t have to worry because he has someone who lovingly cares for him.

It was a perfect day and perfect timing. How ironic that the day before my dear husband would have left me a widow!

God knew what was going to happen, so he prompted me to let my daughter and son-in-law go to the wedding instead of me. But I have some pictures, and here is one of them.

 

Everything God does is in his perfect time.

  • WHEN THE TIME HAD FULLY COME, God sent his Son.
  • “THE TIME HAS COME,” Jesus said. “The kingdom of God is near. Repent and believe the good news!” 
  • AT JUST THE RIGHT TIME, Christ died for us.
  • WHEN THE TIMES WILL HAVE REACHED THEIR FULFILLMENT, everything will be put under Christ, so that at the name of Jesus every knee shall bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue will confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

 (See Galatians 4:4; Mark 1:15; Romans 5:6-8; Ephesians 1:10; Philippians 2:9-11.)

Sometimes we get impatient; we want quick fixed, NOW!

The apostle Paul wrote to the Romans: “Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer” (12:12). At this moment I have to put this into practice in a big way. The weather has changed, the cold as in “winter” has come, and my nerve-endings have been hit big time. I had forgotten how painful my feet get in the cold. This is a good time to practice “patience in affliction,” especially since I have a three-year-old to take care of.

This afternoon I fell asleep while she was taking her nap and it turned out a looong one for her: 4 hours! “That’s not a long nap,” she said. When I asked her why, Sarah said a nap of one hundred hours is a long one! I agree! Sometimes we feel like we could need that kind of a nap.

How about this? “But do not forget this one thing, dear friends: With the Lord a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like a day. 9 The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. He is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance” (2 Peter 3:8-9).

At the right time God sent his Son to die for us. One day soon, at perfect timing, God’s Son will come back, first to call home his Bride (anybody who has accepted him as Lord and Savior) and later to reign, for a thousand years of peace. Satan will be bound and unable to deceive mankind.

Whatever afflictions we have here on earth will forever be forgotten.

“Christ in [us], the hope of glory.”
Colossians 1:27
About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Perfect Timing

  1. Pingback: Perfect Timing « Kerstin Lundquist's Blog – Kingdom of God Worship Blogs

Leave a Reply

