The Miracle of 500

I wish my husband was still with me and could celebrate this day. Since the early days of our marriage he heard me say that once I retired I was going to write. I did some writing as the years went by, but most of my work consisted in editing what somebody else had written. That’s how I made my living!

Now I’m retired! I have a pension and I get a monthly Social Security check. That covers my food and shelter. I do freelance jobs so I have some money to spend on my grandkids and mission projects. Many years ago I discovered the law of sowing and reaping:

The more you give, the more you get!
The more you get, the more you can give!

The Miracle of 500 is that this is my Blog #500 on this site. Counting what I have written in Spanish and Swedish it’s close to 700! But today I’m celebrating this blog.

My husband sent up many prayers for me. When we first got married he wanted to be like me and write. Finally he gave up and acknowledged that God has not made everybody a writer. Then he changed his approach and started praying for me that I would be able to write at my heart’s content. That’s why I wish he was here with me. I think a lot of what I do today is a result of his prayers.

Are you wondering where he is? If you have been with me for a while on this blog you know I’m a widow. When my husband went to be with the Lord four years ago I didn’t even know what a blog was! And when I was sick with cancer and God started to speak to my heart about putting my writing on the Internet to bless people, I had no clue about blogs!

My son-in-law got me started! He told me about WordPress! On what would have been my 40th wedding anniversary I decided to give it a try. That was two and a half years ago. And here I am now, writing away like there was no stopping me.

I want to thank all my faithful readers. Without you there would be no point in writing, other than for the sheer fun of it. My goal is to stay positive in the midst of trials and be an encourager. There is nothing so dark that there isn’t a silver lining.

In the beginning my son-in-law edited the blogs. He very soon gave up. I guess I was writing too much and too fast. So, what can I do for you today, to celebrate this milestone in my life? I can think of nothing better than to offer a prayer of blessing.

A Prayer of Blessing

I bless you with God’s love. I shower you with the grace and mercy of God.
I bless you with all spiritual blessings in Christ Jesus.

I bless you with a crown of beauty instead of ashes, 
                     with the oil of gladness instead of mourning, 
                     with a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair.

I bless you to delight in God’s Word and to meditate on it day and night.
I bless you to be like a tree planted by streams of water, 
                     which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not whiter.

I bless you to walk in the path of righteousness, shining brighter every day.
I bless you to trust in the Lord with all your heart and not lean on your understanding, 
                      to acknowledge God in all your ways.

I bless you to take refuge in God, for the Lord is your strength and your song.
I bless you to grow strong in the Lord and in his mighty power.

I bless you with health to your body and nourishment to your bones.
I bless you above all to guard your heart, the wellspring of life.

I bless you to taste and see that the Lord is good.
I bless you to love Jesus above all else!

 

“I glory in Christ Jesus in my service to God.”  Romans 15:17

 

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Miracle of 500

Leave a Reply

