A Busy Thanksgiving

I don’t know if I’ve ever had such a busy and compact Thanksgiving. After not-so-thorough consideration I decided to drive to Fort Gibson for the celebration. I had fallen asleep at the computer the evening before while working on my weekly story for children (it happens often, probably due to the pain medication). I had to finish that, of course! So the ten-o’clock target time for leaving became eleven.

Once I had filled up with gas and pumped air in the tires, I got in the car and drove steadily, mostly with the cruise control on, and made it in two hours and forty-five minutes! That was a record for me, probably because there was no road work going on and because I cheated a little on the speed limits. But the “quiet” towns I went through is probably the biggest reason.

I had a fun thanksgiving gift for the kids. Each one got a Christmas card with a picture of themselves with their grandmother and a dollar for each year of age. I think they liked it.

Then it was off to the pastor’s house for dinner, a drive to Muskogee. It can get quite chaotic with eight children eight and under, but over all it went well. The biggest accident was that one of the children had been pulling stuff from the wall and his mother (barefoot) stepped on a tack!

I had made a coloring sheet in English for this week’s story, so we had story-time. Maybe you have seen the videos on YouTube about Bella & Tarra, the little dog that was friends with an elephant.

Here is a link to see these unusual friends:  http://youtu.be/qAN5nf04L2s

The girls coloring the elephant Tarra and the dog Bella 

The pastor’s oldest daughter, Hannah, showing off her coloring sheet

The sad thing for the elephant is that her faithful dog friend died on October 26th.

If you have some kids that would like to color, get the picture here: Belle & Tarra

When we got home in the evening it was bed-time. This time it was Brianna’s turn to sleep in my room. We had some fun time talking and watching a program about strange houses (on HGTV). Have you ever seen a shoe house or a house that rotates? That’s what they were showing.

After bed-time prayers it was time for a “money-saving” project. My daughter and I went to Walmart for the Black Friday sale. Carina wanted to save some money on clothes for the kids. I wanted to buy some food. It was chaotic with people lined up around the aisles, mostly to get to the electronic sales. I could not get to the food! The first round of sales started at 10:00 PM. Sometime after nine they let people start picking out what they wanted but all the cash registers were closed. After people had picked out what they wanted they lined up at the registers.

Picture of the crowd from my little corner.
When you get things at half price it’s worth the wait!  

The Lord had been good to me and “saved” me an electric cart. I was prepared to sit in a bench in case there was no cart so I had taken my knitting. Well, I had to sit by a cash register waiting to pay a game at ten o’clock, so I got out my knitting. “She came prepared,” said the man standing behind. Let me tell you there were many “standing behind”! We did good because Carina got out of the store at ten thirty.

Do you follow that I had a busy Thanksgiving? Today I’m watching the kids so the parents can have a late date to celebrate their anniversary. “I’m going to help you,” said David. “I’ll be in charge of the girls and if they don’t mind I’ll come to you. The first time I will give them grace. But then I will come to you.”

I’ve had my “nap” and things went fine. I’m trying to write but they want to play. The best thing to do is play with them. Writing can wait…

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

