ABC’s of Thankfulness

My busy “thanksgiving” is over. I’m back home. But the thanksgiving in my heart is not over. For me every day is a thanksgiving praise offering to God.

The skies that covered my three-hour trip home could be symbolic for the showers of blessing God pours on me. You guessed it! It rained the whole way. This weekend is going to be rainy. There might even be some snow flurries.

Before I left, the kids went through a basket-full of catalogs I had taken with me. They have circled, and circled, and circled thinks they would like for Christmas, but there is not going to be showers of toys.  But there is nothing wrong in dreaming. They could have circled all the toys in the catalogs for that matter. They had fun. But they knew not to circle the expensive ones. One that David wanted was quite expensive. “I’ll give you all my money if you buy it for me,” said David. But even if he would give me all his savings we would not spend so much money on toys, especially when there are boys and girls that won’t even have food for Christmas!

Brianna wants “God-things.” She has a Bible but she wants another one. David wants a Names of God Bible; that’s what he saw in one of the catalogs. Lana is true to her regular wants: horses and puppies and lions (toys). Sarah just wants a Dora the Explorer kitchen. I’m going to sit down and figure out the best things to give them so they can grow and develop, especially in their spiritual life.

When I gave David his greeting card for Christmas he got all upset because I had not written a Bible verse on it. I did that, but he was not satisfied with the verse I had chosen. He wanted Acts 16:31“Believe in the Lord Jesus Christ and you will be saved.” What was he thankful for this Thanksgiving? That Jesus died on the cross to save us! I hope this will continue to be a priority in his life.

What am I most thankful for this Thanksgiving? That my daughter and her family love the Lord! Nothing is more precious. It’s worth more than all the riches in the universe!

ABC’s of Thankfulness

I am the APPLE of God’s eye, I’m sheltered under his wings. The ANGEL of the Lord encamps around me. I am BLESSED without measure. God’s COMPASSIONS never fail. They are new every morning. Great is his faithfulness.

God DAILY bears my burdens. The ETERNAL God is my refuge; underneath are his EVERLASTING arms. His love ENDURES forever. He surrounds me with FAVOR.

GOD is GOOD! He is my HEALER. Nothing is IMPOSSIBLE with him!

I have been JUSTIFIED by faith. The JOY of the Lord is my strength. God shows his KINDNESS in so many ways.

The LAMB’S BOOK OF LIFE. My name is there! Through God’s MERCY I have living hope. The Lord will NEVER leave me nor forsake me. Even when I am OLD God does not cast me away.

I have been blessed with PEACE that transcends all understanding. The Lord QUIETS me with his love. God is my ROCK, my REFUGE, my REDEEMER.

The Lord is my SHEPHERD, I shall not be in want. My TIMES are in his hands. I am UNWORTHY of his love. It’s all grace!

With God I have the VICTORY. He opens over me the WINDOWS of heaven (when I bring his tithes to the storehouse). I rely on the promise that he is a defender of WIDOWS.

I eXALT the Lord. His YOKE is easy, his burden is light. ZION awaits me! An eternity with God! How can I not be thankful?!

Some of the Scriptures I’ve used: Ps 17:8; 34:7; Lam 3:22,23; Ps 68:9; 118:1; Deut 33:27; Ps 5:12; 13:6; 16:12; Ex 15:26; Luke 1:27; Rom 5:1; Neh 8:10; Acts 14:17; Rev 21:27; 1 peter 1:3; Ps 9:10; Heb 13:5; Ps 71:9; Phil 4:7; Zeph 3:17; Ps 18:2; 46:1; 23:1; 31:15; Luke 17:10; Ps 60:12; 1 Cor 15:57; Mal 3:10; Ps 68:5; 34:3; Matt 11:29.

God bless you to be thankful all year around!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in ABC's. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

