B is for Blessing

The first blessing was given by God in the Garden of Eden to the first couple: “Be fruitful and increase in number; fill the earth and subdue it. Rule over the fish of the sea nd the birds of the air and over every living creature that moves on the ground” (Gen 1:28), a blessing that was repeated in Genesis 9:1 to Noah and his sons.

To Abraham, the father of the nation of Israel, God’s promised:

“I will make you into a great nation
and I will bless you;
I will make your name great,
and you will be a blessing.
I will bless those who bless you,
and whoever curses you I will curse;
and all peoples on earth
will be blessed through you”
(Gen 12:2,3).

How have all the peoples on earth been blessed through Abraham? Through Jesus our Savior and Lord! All nations are blessed because of Abraham’s obedience.

“Through your offspring all nations on earth will be blessed,
because you have obeyed me”
(Gen 22:18).

In the Old Testament the word for blessing is the Hebrew barak, which means “to speak the the intention of God,” and “to be happy with where you are.” In the New Testament the word for blessing is eulogia, which means “to speak larger or well of” or “to speak the intention or favor of God on someone.” (Adapted from The Power of Blessing by Kerry Kirkwood)

There is power in blessing, in speaking well of and to others, and of speaking well of yourself. It’s important to fill our sub consciousness with positive affirmations. We often give in to the temptation of speaking negative about ourselves, putting us down. The apostle Paul wrote to the Romans, “Bless those who persecute you; bless and do not curse (Rom 12:14). Let’s apply that in every area of our lives.

I’ve gone through some Scriptures about blessings, and some of the things that bring blessings to us. We are blessed when we…

  • Care for the weak/poor (Ps 41:1)
  • Delight in God’s Word (Ps 1:2; 112:1)
  • Dwell in God’s house (Ps 84:4)
  • Fear the Lord (Ps 112:1)
  • Have been forgiven (Ps 32:1,2)
  • Have made the LORD our God (Ps 144:15)
  • Have our help and hope in God (Ps 146:5)
  • Have our strength in God (Ps 84:5)
  • Keep God’s statues (Ps 119:2)
  • Maintain justice (Ps 106:3)
  • Seek God with all our heart (Ps 119:2)
  • Take refuge in God (Ps 34:8)
  • The Lord disciplines us (Ps 94:12)
  • Trust in God (Ps 40:4; 84:12)
  • Walk in the light of God’s presence (Ps 89:15)

I once made blessing cards for my loved ones. I was especially concerned about those that don’t know the Lord. Maybe we need to make blessing cards and spread to people around us. Blessings are positive affirmations that can transform situations. When you have a problem going on with someone, instead of raving and grumbling about it, start blessing the person. Wish them God’s best. That’s what I’m doing with one of my grandchildren’s teachers. As I have mentioned in a previous blog God impressed me to shower her with love, which translates into prayers.

Suggestions for blessings cards:

You are the apple of God’s eye.
God’s angels always protect you.
I pray for you!
You are a wonderful gift.
I bless you to be strong and healthy.
I bless you with hope.
Be strong, take heart, trust in God.

In blog #500, on November 7th, I suggested a prayer of blessing. Here is a link to download it: Prayer for Blessing

I’m just scratching the surface about blessings. It’s a very vast subject, with such ”blessings” attached to it. Bless, speak good things, be positive, encourage…DO NOT CURSE (speak negative). Be a blesser!

 “May you be blessed by the LORD, the Maker of heaven and earth” (Ps 115:15).

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in ABC's for Christian Living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

