Be a Blesser

How come one tree has lost every single leave and another is dressed in beautiful red? That’s what I wondered about this morning as I looked out my kitchen window. It’s just a mundane question. It probably depends on what kind of a tree it is, but it sure made me happy to see it.

Here is another question with a much deeper meaning. My friend Iris asked me, “How come when Jesus walked on earth he healed everyone that came to him for healing, not weeks in the future or in years to come, but on the spot?”

I have wondered about that myself. I know that Jesus could just say a word and I would be healed, especially of the very painful neuropathy that is slowing me down considerably, more so now that the cold has shown its ugly face. Some people like the cold, so I should not call it “ugly.”

I am consciously avoiding to ask the “why?” question. I make myself keep it at bay. I think that we as humans are too much focused on our body, which is just the outer shell. What counts is the inside—our soul—, and I think that is what the Lord is most interested in. That’s why I don’t want to concentrate too much on my body. I want my soul to be healthy and prosper!

This is how the apostle Paul saw it:

“Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. 17 For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. 18 So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal” (2 Cor 4:16-18).

In verses 7-9 he wrote, “But we have this treasure [the glory of God through Christ Jesus] in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us.

  • We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed;
  • perplexed, but not in despair;
  • persecuted, but not abandoned;
  • struck down, but not destroyed.”

Have you wondered about the same thing? I praise the Lord every day because he is my Healer, even if I don’t see total evidence in my body. But I’m alive! I survived the killer cancer! The side-effects of the poison that destroyed the cancer cells is what I’m suffering from. But it is well with my soul, and that’s what counts.

I want to be a blesser and I want to encourage you to be a blesser. Let’s forget about ourselves and concentrate on Jesus and the people he wants us to bless.

 

 

I want to be like the tree in my neighbor’s yard. Even when it’s cold and other trees are stone dead, I want to shine with the beautiful colors of God’s love. Red is the color of love. That’s why the tree made me think of love and of blessings.

We all have questions, and many times we wonder “why?” this or that happens. Let’s trust our Father and bless his name through the good and through the bad.

“Praise the LORD, O my soul;
all my inmost being, praise his holy name.
Praise the LORD, O my soul,
and forget not all his benefits —

  • who forgives all your sins
  • and heals all your diseases,
  • who redeems your life from the pit
  • and crowns you with love and compassion,
  • who satisfies your desires with good things
  • so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s” (Ps 103:1-5).

Some translations use the word “bless” instead of “praise.” Blessing is praising. Be a blesser in praising God and in praising and blessing others.

I’m not giving up on healing for my body, but I’ve got my eyes fixed on the unseen eternal blessings.

Let’s be blessers!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Blessings in Christ. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

