The Wonders of Blogging

I’m amazed at the contacts I’ve made through this blog! This morning I woke up thinking that I should write about it. When I opened one of my email accounts it confirmed my thought. I had a question from one of my classmates from the boarding school for missionary kids in the jungles of Peru. “Are you, you?” That’s practically what the question was. “Yes, I am the Kerstin you’re asking about!” For a while we were even roommates.

The two most amazing contacts are these:

1. A classmate from Sweden, from when we were 8 years old, found me through one of my blogs. We only went to school together for one year!

2. A lady from Peru that used to work in my parent’s Christian bookstore. When I got her inquiry I remembered this picture. Her name is Isabel, the one on the right.

Another contact is with a Dutch lady living in Germany who I made friends with in Peru when her husband worked for Phillips (in the 70’s). This came about because I wrote about some mutual friends.

Other contacts have been through Facebook and my Spanish blogs. It’s especially meaningful for me since I can’t be out and about like I used to. We are made for fellowship. God made us to need each other. When God saw Adam by himself in the Garden he said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him.”

True! It’s not good for us to be alone. It’s especially hard when you’re sick and the pantry and the refrigerator get emptier and emptier. Yesterday I finally made the move, got out of the house, went to Walmart and asked for help. They gave me an associate to walk with me to fill the shopping cart. It was wonderful! I stocked up on non-perishables and even fruits and vegetables. She helped me get through the check-out and then a young man went with me to the car and put the things in the trunk. It was a necessary move (to get out) but now my chest is hurting again. Garlic, honey, ginger, apple-cider vinegar, lemon… what else do I need?

Getting home, I was alone. No help to put the things away! But I made it, walking slowly and taking my time. I even managed to put up my Christmas curtains and change to my Christmas tablecloth. I put up my Christmas angels and the snowmen. That’s it! And of course my advent candles! The problem is that I bought the candles on sale last year and in the heat of summer they got a little disfigured. They are “curvy.” These candles are one tradition I’m not breaking. You start four weeks before Christmas, and burn one candle. The next week you burn two candles, and so on until the Big Day.

So here I am, starting to enjoy this Season, planning some special stories to publish. I need to get illustrations for the stories. If you’re good at drawing and would like to use this talent for missions, contact me through a comment, and you can draw pictures for the stories I publish each week to inspire children in Spanish-speaking countries.

This week’s story is about two girls that were “inseparable.” They wrote secret messages to each other using a code. When the mother of one of the girls got very sick and was taken to the hospital, the other girl encouraged her with the message that Jesus can heal any sickness. She also prayed together with her family. What a joy when she got another secret message: “Mom is better.”

We need someone to be “inseparable” with. We need encouragement; we need prayer. I hope I will find many more friends through the wonders of blogging. Or that they find me!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

