To Go Green

(By mistake this didn’t get published yesterday. It’s not the end of the world.)

It’s popular to Go Green, in other words to do everything possible to care for the environment. Today I had somebody help to load my car with big bags of paper to recycle, also plastics and tin cans. We have a recycle place not too far from where I live. I love to recycle!

After dropping off all my “useful” garbage I went to the Post Office to send some packages to Sweden and to buy stamps. For my friend from outside the United States, let me tell you that we have stamps called FOREVER. I guess the Postal Service came up with that because they are continually “upgrading the price” of the stamps. This way they don’t have to print so many new ones. Does that make sense? When the prices go up, you don’t worry about, and use your FOREVER stamps. And they are going up again in January.

Something that is very popular now are the recycle bags. instead of the plastic or paper bags the stores offer they have special bag you buy for a dollar or two, and then you bring your bag on your shopping trips and “save” the environment from more plastic and paper. Not only the stores have these bags, but also the Post Office they have a bag that matches one of the Christmas stamps and they have a bag to match the “Go Green” stamps. Here’s a neat idea for a Christmas present. Give one of those bags together with a set of matching stamps. Who doesn’t need stamps? And who doesn’t need bags for grocery shopping?

The weather was beautiful today. I wish there would be FOREVER beautiful weather. I traveled again this afternoon. I’m the FOREVER baby-sitter for my grandchildren. But they’re not babies anymore, so do you say kid-sitter? One of them, my FOREVER FRIEND Brianna, was proud to show off her new glasses (pink to match her pyjamas) and of course wanted me to take a picture.

Driving in the sunset this evening I took pictures and I want to show off some of them. The pictures are a sad representation of the amazing colors God used today to paint the sky. And taken through the windshield while driving at 75 miles an hour hardly makes any award-winning photographs. But let me show you the beauty I enjoyed on my three-hour trip.

In the third picture you can see the M arch for McDonald’s. It’s interesting because the restaurant is built over the road. The next picture is of a big Indian. It’s Cherokee Nation in that area and the Indian is very impressive. I managed to take the picture because we had red light at the intersection and then I had a truck ahead of me that turned very slowly giving me time to snap pictures.

It’s late. I have a busy day ahead of me tomorrow, starting my kid-sitting weekend. Don’t forget to “Go Green.” Take good care of the environment. God’s world is too beautiful to pollute.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

