The Gift of Joy

“Joy to the world, the Lord is come!” How many times have you sang it (or is it “sung”)? It is joy, upon joy! I have everything in my head that I want to write about, but there are two girls with me that are my “joy” but will not keep quiet. I arrived at my daughter’s last night, to the kid’s delight. And now they don’t want to leave me alone. What do they understand about blogs? The only thing they want is to spend time with their grandmother.

I was sad the other day when I visited a friend in a rehab center and she was sad because she had not felt the presence of the Lord in 16 month! I have been thinking and praying about that. I cannot even imagine such a sad thing. Then the Lord reminded me of praise and rejoicing. We can be so wrapped up in our sad circumstances that we miss out on the sweet presence of the Lord. However sad our physical conditions are we need to find things to praise the Lord for. “Joy to the world, the Lord is come!” is something we can always rejoice over.

This afternoon I’m going shopping with my son-in-law! That sounds fun, doesn’t it? I’m not really going shopping with him; I’m going with him to watch the kids while they do shopping for each other. Then we are picking up a sweatshirt for me at JCPenney.

A couple of weeks ago I bought me a sweatshirt in Tulsa. It was one size too small but I figured I’d take it to Springfield and exchange it. I needed to buy it because of a $10 discount certificate. In Springfield they had only a few left, and not my size. Then I found out something I should have known all along. I could have asked them to order it on-line for me. I got the same discount price, so I’m not even paying eight dollars for it. And guess where I’m picking it up? In Muskogee, Oklahoma! Talk about something to be joyful about? From Tulsa, to Springfield, to Muskogee! And all in time for Christmas! You guessed it. Its’ a red sweatshirt!

I have a special blog planned to write about JOY, but it will have to wait for “next year”! Now my joy is with my grandchildren, and I will let them have the gift of enJOYing their grandmother even if she would like to have a little peace and quiet to write a long blog. Maybe you’re happy that they are being noisy; that way you don’t have to read a long blog!

I wish you the JOY of the Lord not only for Christmas but every day. Even when things go wrong, when your body shows signs of wanting to shut down, when you don’t get all your wants, PTLA (praise the Lord anyway)!

Here is a verse I want to use as inspiration for my wish for you:

They will enter Zion with singing;
everlasting joy will crown their heads.
Gladness and joy will overtake them,
and sorrow and sighing will flee away. (Isaiah 35:10)

This Christmas, may gladness and JOY overtake you!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Christmas, joy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

