Starting over at 90

I thought it was quite a hassle to start over at 65 when I moved back to my house that hadn’t sold. I had kept my basic furniture, so it really wasn’t that bad. Yesterday I found out about my friend Mary whose house burnt down three month ago, and she is on the brink of turning 90! “It’s not easy to start over at 90!” she said.

Both of us have Swedish blood running through our veins. Both of us have an optimistic disposition. Both of us are widows. Both of us love Jesus. Other than that, our lives are very different.

A few weeks before the fire God sent one of his messengers to her. This messenger was an old friend whom God had told to take Mary around town and tour places where she could live in case something would happen to her. Talk about the Lord’s care! Now my friend is living in one of the places they had toured. The road ahead is not easy but God will help her each step of the way.

Another friend, that has been discouraged for a long time and seen no light at the end of the tunnel, just called. I could hear it in her voice that something positive had happened in her life. She is in a rehab center and was going to be moved from one room to another. At the precise moment God sent somebody there to help her set her things up the way she likes to have them, otherwise the personnel would have placed them at their discretion. This gave her hope.

How about the widow in Zarepath, the one that was going to cook the last meal for her and her son, and then just die? God sent her a prophet to feed.

Here is the story of Elijah and the widow.

1 Kings 17:9-16

“Go at once to Zarephath of Sidon and stay there [God said to Elijah]. I have commanded a widow in that place to supply you with food.” 10 So he went to Zarephath. When he came to the town gate, a widow was there gathering sticks. He called to her and asked, “Would you bring me a little water in a jar so I may have a drink?” 11 As she was going to get it, he called, “And bring me, please, a piece of bread.”

12 “As surely as the LORD your God lives,” she replied, “I don’t have any bread-only a handful of flour in a jar and a little oil in a jug. I am gathering a few sticks to take home and make a meal for myself and my son, that we may eat it-and die.”

13 Elijah said to her, “Don’t be afraid. Go home and do as you have said. But first make a small cake of bread for me from what you have and bring it to me, and then make something for yourself and your son. 14 For this is what the LORD, the God of Israel, says: ‘The jar of flour will not be used up and the jug of oil will not run dry until the day the LORD gives rain on the land.'”

15 She went away and did as Elijah had told her. So there was food every day for Elijah and for the woman and her family. 16 For the jar of flour was not used up and the jug of oil did not run dry, in keeping with the word of the LORD spoken by Elijah.

It’s exciting to see how God cares for us in the midst of our trial and tribulations. We have not been promised to be exempt, but that he will be with us. The widow had to have faith and make FIRST a cake for the prophet. Gods asks us to seek his Kingdom FIRST and then the other things will be added unto us. (See Matthew 6:33)

Here are some encouraging words:

Isaiah 43:1-3
Fear not, for I have redeemed you;
I have summoned you by name; you are mine.
2 When you pass through the waters,
I will be with you;
and when you pass through the rivers,
they will not sweep over you.
when you walk through the fire,
you will not be burned;
the flames will not set you ablaze.
3 For I am the LORD, your God,
the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.”

I want to encourage you to keep the faith, to be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. We don’t know what the future holds, but we know who holds the future.

With God’s help, even when we have to start over at 90, we can have joy in our heart.

Have a blessed day!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Impact 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

