Too See God’s Glory

I made the above picture after listening to a sermon last night which pointed to Moses’ desire to see God’s glory. I literally had it before me all night! Before I even got started on writing the blog I fell asleep, with the computer in my lap (that’s why it’s called a lap-top!). At 4:45 in the morning I awoke, staring at the words “Show me your glory.”

Yes, I want to see God’s glory! I want to see God manifested in my life as never before. I want to see his miracles operating in my life and in others.

When Martha from Bethany was at probably one of the lowest points in her life, Jesus said to her, “Did I not tell you that if you believed, you would see the glory of God?” (John 11:40). Four days earlier she had buried her brother, after sending for Jesus. But Jesus didn’t come!

Isn’t that how we feel many times, when we “send” for the Lord (ask for his help) and nothing happens? He didn’t come through! He hasn’t heard my prayer! God doesn’t care! And in desperation we call out, “Where are you God when I need you?”

Jesus had only one purpose in staying on where he was when he got the news of his friend Lazarus’ sickness. He wanted to show God’s glory!

“This sickness will not end in death. No, it is for God’s glory so that God’s Son may be glorified through it” (v. 4).

Jesus even told his disciples, “Lazarus is dead, and for your sake I am glad I was not there, so that you may believe” (vs.14,15). And did they ever see God’s glory!

Jesus was not oblivious to the call of his friends for help. How do I know? First of all, because he never is! But also because he prayed for his friend. At the gravesite he looked up and said, “Father, I thank you that you have heard me (he had prayed!). I knew that you always hear me.” That’s what I mean. Jesus had prayed—and now was the time for a miracle, one nobody had ever witnessed.

Jesus called in a loud voice, “Lazarus, come out!”

The dead man came out, his hands and feet wrapped with strips of linen, and a cloth around his face. Jesus said to them, “Take off the grave clothes and let him go.” (See John 11:41-44.)

“Did I not tell you that if you believed, you would see the glory of God?” What an awesome moment for Martha and her sister Mary, and not the least for Lazarus. “God’s glory” was walking around them. He was among them! They fellowshipped with him; they shared meals with him. He showed his compassion at the uttermost—he cried by Lazarus’ tomb.

We don’t have the privilege of having Jesus with us in body, but by his Spirit we can fellowship with him daily. We can see his glory! He will manifest himself in wonders and miracles in our lives. We just have to believe! “Did I not tell you that if you believed, you would see the glory of God?” Trust him!

One thing I’ve learned in my walk with God is that his timing is not exactly like mine. But one thing is for certain. God is never late! It might seem so, and that for sure was the case for Mary and Martha of Bethany. “Lord,” Martha said to Jesus, “if you had been here, my brother would not have died. But (she still hoped!) I know that even now God will give you whatever you ask” (vs.21,22).

We usually have many “if”, “but”, “why?” in our situations. When we see the glory of God it erases all those. I encourage you to believe for the manifestation of God’s glory in your life. Desire it! Crave it! Don’t be content without it!

May our daily prayer be, “God, let me see your glory!”

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Impact 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

