A Roof Over My Head

I often sit on my couch and look out on my little living room and praise the Lord for a roof over my head. Then I think of all the homeless people and I can’t help but feel that life is not fair. Why am I so blessed? Indeed, that’s not fair.

Once a month I have some friends that come and help me with an overall cleaning. I commented about how thankful I am for my home. They feel the same way for their home, a trailer with a farm!

Now comes the part that breaks my heart. Minutes ago I received an email from some friends that used to work with us when we were missionaries in Peru. They were evicted and having no place to go they sat up camp on an open lot. I don’t have any details. I can’t say one thing or another since I don’t know exactly what has happened.

One thing is for sure. It is cold at night. It’s bearable during the day when the sun comes out. But when it rains this makeshift abode is not much of a protection. (I blurred out my friend to respect his privacy.) It’s no wonder I feel sad for my friends.

When you go to bed tonight, say an extra prayer of thanks for the roof over your head. And pray for my friends in Peru that somehow they will once again have a decent roof over their heads.

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Peru. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Roof Over My Head

  1. It must be very frustrating to not be able to help them – have you tried some of the global missionary groups?

Leave a Reply

