To Be Ready

How important preparation is, wouldn’t you agree? To be ready for something? This afternoon I prepared for what is coming tomorrow—a cold front! Not a big deal, really. But I had a couple of errands to run and I had to take advantage of the not-so-cold weather.

This was something very minor, compared to the great event we all need to be ready for. The day only God knows when it will arrive—Jesus coming back to take us to our heavenly home!

“You also must be ready, because the Son of Man will come at an hour when you do not expect him” (Luke 12:40).

There is an African legend about a leopard and the fire. One day the leopard invited the fire to visit him at his cave. The fire was happy to accept the invitation, but since it was the rainy season he said he would have to wait until the rains stopped. “Be sure to cut all the grass around your cave before I come,” said the fire.

Once in a while the fire would send word to the leopard saying, “I’m coming soon!” But the leopard didn’t get ready for the visit of his friend the fire. One day passed and then another. “I’ll do it tomorrow,” the leopard said.

The fire sent word again, saying he was coming soon. But the leopard did not get ready. And when the fire came around for a visit, it was too late. It swept away with all the vegetation around the cave and even got to his friend the leopard.

The leopard perished because he procrastinated and didn’t get ready. He was warned but he left the preparation for another day.

That’s my story for the week, with a message to ponder!

If ever the coming of Jesus is imminent, it’s now!

For the Lord himself will come down from heaven, with a loud command, with the voice of the archangel and with the trumpet call of God, and the dead in Christ will rise first. After that, we who are still alive and are left will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. And so we will be with the Lord forever. Therefore encourage each other with these words (1 Thess 4:16-18).

What more encouraging words than to be reminded that Jesus is coming soon. But we need to be ready.

“Behold, I am coming soon! My reward is with me, and I will give to everyone according to what he has done. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End. Blessed are those who wash their robes, that they may have the right to the tree of life and may go through the gates into the city” (Rev 22:12-14).

We know Jesus is coming. We have plenty of “warnings” in the Word of God. Are we ready? Don’t procrastinate! Be ready for his coming!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Jesus return. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

