Inspiration

Inspiration or motivation. Call it what you want, but we all need it time and again. I had been looking for inspiration to finish a series of lessons about following in the footsteps of Jesus the Son of God (En las pisadas de Jesucristo el Hijo de Dios, is the title in Spanish). It wasn’t like I could look under the bed or behind the dresser to see if that is where I had lost it. Just kidding! It’s a much serious matter.

Sometimes inspiration comes in mysterious ways. This is how I got the inspiration to finish this project! And I’m determined to do it before the inspiration gets lost! I received a proofreading job of a book in Spanish written about the end times. Proofreading, mind you! When you proofread something, you take for granted that the job is in its final stages. Well, this one was not!

After only a couple of hours of getting into the text I realized no one had done any work on it except the writer. It was boring, repetitive, inaccurate… I immediately wrote the publishing company telling them I was stopping the job because the book had to be edited. I offered I could do it but with the liberty to cut all the “fluff” and to correct the inaccuracies.

One thing I’m not good at is sugarcoating. I say things like they are without beating around the bush. Later I wrote an apology for being harsh in my wording, but I wanted them to realize how important it was to take a good second look at the project. That’s what they are doing. In the meantime, I got the inspiration that I had lost. I guess a lot of adrenaline was pumped into my system.

This morning I’m going to finish lesson 5 and send the first five lessons to my dear friend Clemencia for proofreading. She will not have to get all upset because this is really a proofreading job. The lay-out is done, the art is in place, and I just need some other eyes to have a look at the text before I publish it on the web for teachers all over the world. That’s the most exciting part. Anybody, anywhere, can access the lessons, and for free! I’m humbled and thankful that the Lord has given me the privilege to provide Christian Education teachers with materials. See: http://hermanamargarita.com

Here’s one of the pictures that go with the lessons. I’ve colored it as a sample but they don’t come colored in the lessons. That’s for the teacher or the kids to do. Most of them don’t have access to a color printer, so why tempt them with color pictures?

The art is done by my good friend Cesar, one of my first Sunday school boys from my early missionary days in Huancayo, Peru in the “good old” sixties! I guess the “good” about those sixties years was my young and healthy body! Back then I had not even heard the word computer and who could have dreamt of the wonders of the web. But here we are, almost half a century later, connecting on the Internet as if it was the most natural thing in the world.

Before I start getting off track I better get busy with my lessons. I have to go to the Post Office to send them off because it’s not like putting a regular First Class letter in the mail. For my readers in other parts of the world, where I live I just have to put stamped letters in my mailbox and the mail carrier will take them. What great service!

In my neck of the woods it looks to be a bright and sunny day. The little snow we got two days ago is quickly melting. Maybe the temperature will rise enough so that I can take a bike ride in the afternoon. My body craves exercise, just as much as my mind craves for inspiration.

I wish you inspiration and motivation for whatever projects you have to tackle. Have a day filled to the measure with the goodness of God!

About kelund

My name is Kerstin Anderas-Lundquist. I was born in Sweden to Per & Brita Anderas, on March 6, 1946. In 1948 we left to begin a missionary life in Chile; in 1956 we moved on to Peru. On May 1, 1969 I married an all-Swedish guy from Karslkrona: Bengt Göran Emanuel Lundquist. God blessed us with two daughters: Eva-Marie Elizabeth and Ruth Carina. We served as missionaries in Peru and Bolivia. In 1988 we moved to the United States to work at Life Publishers in Miami, Florida. I was to assist in developing the line of Sunday School Curriculm in Spanish known as Vida Nueva. I live in Springfield, Missouri, and am retired from work at the Assemblies of God Headquarters. My husband and daughter Eva-Marie have been promoted to Heaven. Carina is married to Thom Cole and they have given me four gourgeous grandchildren, even five (teen-age John). I will be writing about my life, past and present, blended with visions for the future. My deepest desire is to spread the “seed of love”–inspiration to serve God and our neighbors with love and compassion.
This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

